KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

RMA 1.00 Beta - Service Startup and Connect As

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KS-Soft Forum Index -> HostMonitor
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
smckenna



Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2003 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HM 4.02 Beta (unregistered)
XP SP1,
not part of domain
conecting over 31.2K modem with non-priv account

RMA 1.0 Beta
W2K SP4 on corporate network.
part of domain

Test one the RMA machine are performed logged in as both a non-priv and domain admin accounts through Remote Desktop

-- Problem 1 -------------------------------
Using rma_cfg.exe I can start the service (configured as local account)

Connectivity from RMA Admin 1.00 Beta connects.

If I attempt to stop and restart the service through the service MMC, the RMA Admin fails to connect.
Simply restarting the service through rma_cfg.exe re-establishes connectivity.

-- Problem 2 -------------------------------
The connect as field in HM does not seem to apply to the RMA. The only account that matters with tests is what account the service is configured with.

I can live with this, but please grey out the connect as field when Test By is set to an RMA. Or allow the RMA to pass the credentials through.



4.0 is a major leap forward. Nice job.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11994
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2003 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

>The connect as field in HM does not seem to apply to the RMA. The only account that matters with tests is what account the service is configured with.

"Connect as" option works when you need to check not local system (not local to HostMonitor and not local to RMA). Example: HostMonitor installed on system A, RMA installed on system B, you want to check system C using RMA installed on system B. In this case HostMonitor (system A) sends request to RMA (system B), RMA checks system C using specified user name and password.

>Connectivity from RMA Admin 1.00 Beta connects.
If I attempt to stop and restart the service through the service MMC, the RMA Admin fails to connect.
Simply restarting the service through rma_cfg.exe re-establishes connectivity.


In was fixed in RMA 1.01
http://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/news.htm

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
smckenna



Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2003 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

"Connect as" option works when you need to check not local system (not local to HostMonitor and not local to RMA). Example: HostMonitor installed on system A, RMA installed on system B, you want to check system C using RMA installed on system B. In this case HostMonitor (system A) sends request to RMA (system B), RMA checks system C using specified user name and password.


Thanks Alex for a quick weekend response.

This may be user error then.

HM -> RMA -> Exchange

Unless RMA service (system B) is started with a Domain Admin account, requests from HM (system A, outside the domain) through RMA, for Exchange and UNC information on system C fail with access denied regardless of what is in the Connect As field.

When RMA service is started with Domain Admin account, requests succeed even when Connect As is blank.

Terry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11994
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2003 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, if RMA is running as service under local system account it cannot use any network connections. It tries to perform "Connect As" function but does not have permissions..

Regards
Alex

[ This Message was edited by: KS-Soft on 2003-07-28 20:27 ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KS-Soft Forum Index -> HostMonitor All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index