KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

%mibnameshort% shows 1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0 instead of sysUpTime

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
HakanH



Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 5:00 am    Post subject: %mibnameshort% shows 1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0 instead of sysUpTime Reply with quote

Hi,

I have SNMP tests that check uptime and I use %mibnameshort% in the NamePattern.
In 9.x (I’m not sure when it changed) %mibnameshort% showed “sysUpTime” .
In 10.20 and 10.30 %mibnameshort% shows “1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0” which is the same as %object%.

Is this a bug?

Regards
Hakan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12303
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you are using invalid variable name.
Should be %MibNameShort%

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HakanH



Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I mixed up the variable here in the forum first but I have used %mibnameshort% in my tests all the time.

If I export an old test that is OK it looks like this:
Code:
Method      = SNMP
;--- Common properties ---
;DestFolder = Root\Switches\
RMAgent     = Folder-specific-agent
Title       = MMASW10 (10.19.254.32) SNMP sysUpTime
Comment     = SNMP Get sysUpTime from 10.19.254.32
RelatedURL  =
NamePattern = MMASW10 (%Host%) SNMP %mibnameshort%


If I edit the the title without doing any actual change the title gets updated and the export looks like this:
Code:
Method      = SNMP
;--- Common properties ---
;DestFolder = Root\Switches\
RMAgent     = Folder-specific-agent
Title       = MMASW10 (10.19.254.32) SNMP 1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0
Comment     = SNMP Get 1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0 from 10.19.254.33
RelatedURL  =
NamePattern = MMASW10 (%Host%) SNMP %mibnameshort%


I want my test name to end with "sysUpTime" as before but it doesn't do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12303
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

May be somebody removed mibdata.lst and mibtree.lst files?
Can you start MIB Browser? Do you see .iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2.system.sysUpTime counter?

Windows?
Service Pack?
Are you using HostMonitor GUI or Remote Control Console (RCC) started on remote system? RCC started on local (HostMonitor) system?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HakanH



Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That solved my problem.

The MIB Browser didn't show .iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2.system.sysUpTime .

Mibdata.lst and mibtree.lst was only some KB in size. When I restored to older and larger versions of mibdata.lst and mibtree.lst it works again.

I use RCC, sometimes from Hostmonitor programs folder but most of the times from another location. Now I have learned that I need Mibdata.lst and mibtree.lst at this other location also.

Thanks
Hakan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12303
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 5:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are welcome

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index