KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

[SOLVED] Error due to double header in SOAP/XML monitor

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JBee



Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 6:01 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Error due to double header in SOAP/XML monitor Reply with quote

Hi Alex,

I have the following problem with Hostmonitor version 9.02 Beta on Windows XP SP3.

After creating a SOAP/XML monitor and using Fiddler (HTTP Debugging Proxy) I found out that Hostmonitor sends two headers
and returns an HTTP/1.1 Internal Server Error.

Content-Type: text/xml; charset=utf-8
Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded


The monitor is a POST request with SOAP version 1.1 and I created a header for the SOAPAction.

Could you take a look and see if you can reproduce this problem ?

Best regards,
Jeroen

FYI : The test method is called SAOP/XML instead of SOAP/XML.


Last edited by JBee on Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:14 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12100
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Content-Type: text/xml; charset=utf-8
Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded


HostMonitor inserts "Content-Type: text/xml; charset=utf-8" into HTTP header when you are using POST method and SOAP version 1.1
HostMonitor does not insert "Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded" into header.
We just rechcked code and performed some tests, it works properly.

BTW: What version of Internet Explorer is installed on your system?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JBee



Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thanks for checking. Do you have any ideas where the second header is coming from ?

I have installed IE8 (and FF 3.6.22) on my system.

I also tested the same monitor (also in application mode but without proxy) on a system with Windows Server 2003 SP2 with IE7 and it returns the same error.

Below the message that is returned when I use the "Test" button.

HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error
Content-Type: text/xml
X-Backside-Transport: FAIL FAIL
Connection: close
Set-Cookie: sticky-key=3460502955.20736.0000; expires=Thu, 24-Nov-2011 15:29:30 GMT; path=/
Vary: Accept-Encoding

What is causing the FAIL FAIL message ?

BTW: A great idea to implement this type of test. At the moment we use Shell Script tests with a powershell script to check the status of our SOAP services but this puts a heavy burding on CPU & Memory resources.

Regards,
Jeroen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12100
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is your server accessible from internet?
Could you export test settings into text file and send it to us?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JBee



Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, server isn't accessible from internet.
I will mail you the test settings.

Regards,
Jeroen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12100
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We tested HostMonitor with IE8 as well, works fine.
Can you setup HostMonitor to perform URL requests without using proxy? Select "direct to net" option on "Connection/Access method" page in the Options dialog.

Quote:
HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error
Content-Type: text/xml
X-Backside-Transport: FAIL FAIL

I think its good idea to ask your web server administrator about this problem. He knows what exactly web server is used, what script processes this SOAP request, what parameters are required by this script, he can check web server log files and so on...

May be your server supports SOAP version 1.2 as well?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JBee



Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Standard setting is "direct to net", I only use a proxy for debugging purposes.

We don't support SOAP 1.2 at the moment.

The check works fine if I change the check to a GET (WSDL) instead of a POST.

Could you please have another look at this problem ?

We want to upgrade from HM 8.28 but only if we can use the SOAP checks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12100
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We re-tested HostMonitor version 9.02 and 9.16 (not available for download yet) with IE 8.0, everything looks fine, only one "Content-Type:" listed in HTTP request.

Quote:
The check works fine if I change the check to a GET (WSDL) instead of a POST.

May be your server accepts only GET requests?
If GET request works fine, why do you want to use POST request?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JBee



Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

We re-tested HostMonitor version 9.02 and 9.16 (not available for download yet) with IE 8.0, everything looks fine, only one "Content-Type:" listed in HTTP request.

I check my (HTTP) request headers with the free web debugger proxy Fiddler (http://www.fiddler2.com). How do you check yours ?
Quote:

May be your server accepts only GET requests?

No, the server accepts both request and this problem occurs with different servers/applications.

Quote:

If GET request works fine, why do you want to use POST request?

Only to test if a valid connection can be made to the server/application. We need to use POST requests.

Below is the check I tried yesterday, the (raw) request/response are from Fiddler. I changed the domain name in both request and response.

Request:
POST https://www.xxxxx.com/em/lse/sysint/sysint.asmx HTTP/1.1
SOAPAction: http://www.teledyne.com/lse/SysInt/IsServiceAlive
Content-Type: text/xml; charset=utf-8
Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded
User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0)
Host: www.xxxxx.com
Content-Length: 232
Connection: Keep-Alive
Cache-Control: no-cache
Pragma: no-cache

<soap:Envelope xmlns:soap="http://www.w3.org/2003/05/soap-envelope" xmlns:sys="https://www.xxxxx.com/em/lse/SysInt"><soap:Header/><soap:Body><sys:IsServiceAlive xmlns="https://www.xxxxx.com/em/lse/SysInt"/></soap:Body></soap:Envelope>

Response:
HTTP/1.1 400 Bad Request
Connection: Keep-Alive
Set-Cookie: ISAWPLB{4E7ED4A1-64DD-4FEF-AFE3-9286B76B8B92}={09A452C1-4646-4261-AC04-8227B9AB3584}; HttpOnly; Path=/
Content-Length: 42
Date: Thu, 05 Apr 2012 05:37:41 GMT
Content-Type: text/html
Set-Cookie: sticky-key=411309483.47873.0000; expires=Thu, 05-Apr-2012 13:37:41 GMT; path=/
Set-Cookie: xxx_tracking_id=57024251_172.26.166.48;path=/;domain=.xxxxx.com;

<h1>Bad Request (Invalid Header Name)</h1>

Because of the double request header, do you agree with me that the problem must be on the sending end (my workstation) and not on the receiving end (server/application/firewall/etc) ?

Regards,
Jeroen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I check my (HTTP) request headers with the free web debugger proxy Fiddler (http://www.fiddler2.com). How do you check yours ?

We used Wireshark Network Protocol Analyzer (www.wireshark.org), also, we checked traffic, using Fiddler.
Both analyzers show that HostMonitor sends only one Content-Type header.
Quote:
Because of the double request header, do you agree with me that the problem must be on the sending end (my workstation) and not on the receiving end (server/application/firewall/etc) ?

Do you use Fiddler installed on local system, where HostMonitor runs ?
Problem should be between HostMonitor and Fiddler.
Question is what 3-rd party application modifies HTTP headers, sent by HostMonitor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12100
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, could you export test settings into text file and send to us + hostmon.ini file (support@ks-soft.net)?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JBee



Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Do you use Fiddler installed on local system, where HostMonitor runs ?

Fiddler and Hostmonitor (9.16) are both installed on my workstation. Today I also installed Hostmonitor (9.16) on a server (windows server 2003 SP2 with IE7) and used the same test and got the same response (HTTP/1.1 400 Bad Request).

Quote:

Problem should be between HostMonitor and Fiddler.

Not necessarily, how do you explain that I get the same response if Fiddler isn't used (direct connection) or installed (server).

Quote:

Question is what 3-rd party application modifies HTTP headers, sent by HostMonitor.

I'm not yet convinced that it is the 3rd party application.

Regards,
Jeroen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JBee



Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been able to solve this problem with a fix provided by the support team.

The problem was related to the HTTPS protocol.

The fix will be included in the next release of Hostmonitor.

My compliments !!!

Regards,
Jeroen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12100
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for delay
If we knew its related to HTTPS protocol we could fix it much sooner but we spent most of time checking HTTP module...

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index