KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Can I test the value from another test in the same folder

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PaulNZ



Joined: 04 Apr 2017
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 11:06 pm    Post subject: Can I test the value from another test in the same folder Reply with quote

Hi Alex

I want to only test against the virtual memory if the physical memory in another test in the same folder is below a certain percentage.

Is this possible? I couldn't work out how to do this.

Thanks in advance
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perform testB when testA has Bad status?
Just mark "this test depends on another test" option for testB and select testA
http://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/mframe.htm#tests.htm#Master

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PaulNZ



Joined: 04 Apr 2017
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Alex, but that doesn't work for me.

The scenario is that I don't care about low virtual memory if the physical memory isn't low too. So, Physical memory threshold is 5%, and Virtual memory threshold is 10%

So, if physical is at 20% and virtual falls to 2% for a period of time, I don't want to be alerted for low virtual memory.
But if physical drops to 3% while virtual is below 10%, then I definitely want to know.

NB All tests are already dependent on the Ping being alive for the server.

Hope that makes sense.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2833

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may access another test item values using variables with the following syntax:
%::TESTNAME::Reply%
%::TESTNAME::Status%
etc.

You may add the following "use Warning Status if" expression into virtual memory test:
'%::myVirtualMemoryTest::Reply_Integer%' < '10'
"Treat Warning status as Bad" option should be enabled.

Another option - use separate test item (e.g. Ping 127.0.0.1)
and the following expressions:
"Tune Up Reply value" expression (optional):
Virtual mem: %::myVirtualMemoryTest::Reply% Phys mem: Virtual mem: %::myPhysicalMemoryTest::Reply%
"use Warning Status if" expression:
'%::myVirtualMemoryTest::Reply_Integer%' < '10' AND '%::myPhysicalMemoryTest::Reply_Integer%' < '4'
("Treat Warning status as Bad" option should be enabled.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PaulNZ



Joined: 04 Apr 2017
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Alex, the first option is perfect - just what I need!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index