KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

File/Folder size test

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Other
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
willhartley



Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 8:22 am    Post subject: File/Folder size test Reply with quote

I am trying to produce a test which will count the size of a selected number of files/folders and add the total size together.

I have used the file/folder size test in the past but this time the folders are not subfolders of each other.

Thanks

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, HostMonitor does not offer built-in test for this purpose. You may create your own VB or Java script and use Active Script or Shell Script test method to launch your script
Active Script test method:
http://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/mframe.htm#tests.htm#script
Shell Script test method:
http://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/mframe.htm#tests.htm#chkShell

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
willhartley



Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks thought this may be the case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
willhartley



Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I have written a vbscript which returns the folder size but it fails on certain directories (such as c:\wndows\) with a permissions error.

What user do these hostmonitor test run under on a remote machine ?

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remote machine? HostMonitor does not execute script on remote system unless you have selected some Remote Monitoring Agent (RMA) installed on remote system to perform this test. In such case script is executed by RMA (not HostMonitor) and it is started under account that was used to start RMA

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Other All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index