Wrong free disk space on some partitions

Remote Monitoring Agent for Linux, FreeBSD, and other UNIX-like platforms.
Post Reply
jcasares
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:33 am

Wrong free disk space on some partitions

Post by jcasares »

I'm having a weird issue. A CentOS Linux partition that is being checked by HostMonitor RMA 1.29 does not return the proper free space. This was identified because we're using another solution now (SCOM) and it alerted us when HostMonitor not.

Image

Image

Does someone know why this could happen?
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

RMA 1.29 is 9 years old. Please update agent (unless you are using some very old HostMonitor as well).
For Linux there are Passive RMA v1.36 and Active RMA v5.20

Are you using UNC test method?
Active RMA v5.20 offers Drive Free Space test as well.

Note: there are "free space for caller" and "total free space" options. Results may be different.

Regards
Alex
jcasares
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:33 am

Post by jcasares »

The problem is we're talking about CentOS 6.10 that seems not to support version 1.36 of RMA.

It gives the following error when trying to start the process:
./rma: /lib64/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.15' not found (required by ./rma)
./rma: /lib64/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.14' not found (required by ./rma)


I do not want to change this legacy system as it has a critical app. I know, EOL OS, EOL libraries, but that's life.

Do you have an intermediate version that I can try in that OS? In any case, why the difference when the other two file systems report free space properly and this one (/db) not?

It is a passive agent and using UNC method.

I did create a script for BASH that provides the check without this issue in the meantime.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
if [ $# -ge 2 ]
then
  filesystem=$1
  alarmthreshold=$2
  freespace=$(df -BG $filesystem | awk 'NR==2{gsub("G", ""); print $4}')
  if [ $freespace -ge $alarmthreshold ]
  then
    echo "ScriptRes:Ok:$freespace"
  else
    echo "ScriptRes:Bad:$freespace"
  fi
else
  echo 'ScriptRes:Unknown:not enough parameters specified'
fi
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

UNC test offers 2 options, there are "free space for caller" and "total free space" options. Results may be different.
I assume you are using "total free space", try to set "free space for caller".

Regards
Alex
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

Do you have an intermediate version that I can try in that OS?
There are various old unsupported versions in archives. Please contact support by e-mail

Regards
Alex
jcasares
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:33 am

Post by jcasares »

I now moved the option to free space for caller, and it returns the proper disk free space.

The platform should be replaced later this year, so I don't want to change much. If this option works, that is OK for me.

Thank you!
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

I think both modes work correctly. Linux provides 2 different counters
- number of free blocks
- number of free blocks for unprivileged users

DF command shows you 2nd counter.
RMA may get any of them, its up to you.

Regards
Alex
Post Reply