KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Hostmonitor Test No answer due to Hostmonitor default = IE

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Roel



Joined: 28 Jun 2022
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2022 7:06 am    Post subject: Hostmonitor Test No answer due to Hostmonitor default = IE Reply with quote

Hello,

We are on Hostmonitor version 12.61 currently running on Server 2016 and certain web result tests are failing on this version.

This to the fact that the new monitoring pages we are trying to monitor are made in a version no longer compatible with Internet Exlplorer.
Result, blank page in IE and faulty test.

Is there a way to let Hostmonitor use another browser by default than Internet Explorer.

Or is this issue fixed in a newer version were you can choose the browser it uses or where maybe the default is EDGE?

Thanks in advance,

Roel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12777
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2022 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

>web result tests are failing

URL test method?
HostMonitor does not use IE and does not render web pages. It does not care if you have correct scripts and HTML on the page.

HostMonitor uses Windows API (and probably the same API used by IE) for connection and SSL/TLS negotiation (not for all tests but for URL test Windows API is used)
"No answer" means there is no answer from the server at all OR there are SSL related problems. So, if web server uses some ciphers/protocols missed or disabled on this Windows system then test will fail.

What TLS versions and ciphers supported by this web server?
Can you provide URL?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Roel



Joined: 28 Jun 2022
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2022 12:25 am    Post subject: >web result tests are failing Reply with quote

Hello Alex,

Thank you for the quick reply.

Below an example of the url used in the URL TEST.
All our webservers use TLS 1.2.

https://servername.domain:443/Applicationdashboard/#/healthchecks

Thanks in advance,

Roel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12777
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2022 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We cannot use fake URL for testing. If you cannot provide access to web server, please check list of supported ciphers by yourself.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index