KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Passive RMA stopped monitoring, does monitor via rmacfg

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Other
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nadav@comda.co.il



Joined: 24 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 6:42 am    Post subject: Passive RMA stopped monitoring, does monitor via rmacfg Reply with quote

Hi,
My passive RMA (runs as a service) stopped monitoring several servers within the LAN it's installed.
When running it via rmacfg (after stopping the service) the monitoring works fine but if I was to logoff from the server running rmacfg all of my monitoring will stop.

I think the problem started after WSUS updating the server that holds the passive RMA and servers that it monitors.

Any tips?

BR,
Nadav.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11884
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RMA version?
Windows? Service Pack?
What account do you use to run service?
What exactly means "stopped monitoring"? Test status? Reply?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nadav@comda.co.il



Joined: 24 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Alex,
Thank you for replying.

The RMA version is currently 5.06, it was 4.88 to begin with but I thought that by updating it will solve my problem, it didn't.
The RMA is installed on a 2008 R2 server, fully updated (SP1 included).

The service operates with Local System.

By "stopped monitoring" I mean that now after i've updated the server that hosts the RMA service and the servers that it monitors to the latest windows updates (latest means May 2017), when running with Local System (as it used to before) it claims: "RMA: Cannot read data"

BR,
Nadav.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11884
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2017 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The RMA version is currently 5.06, it was 4.88 to begin with but I thought that by updating it will solve my problem, it didn't.

I assume you updated HostMonitor as well?
Please use ALL components (HostMonitor, RMA, RCC, etc) from the same package.

Quote:
The service operates with Local System.

I have no idea how it could work before - local system account does not allow to check remote systems, you cannot check services, processes, cpu usage, etc.
Please start service under admin account.
If UAC enabled, please provide BUILT-IN administrator account.

Quote:
it claims: "RMA: Cannot read data"

This means RMA does not provide result within specified timeout.
I think if you increase timeout for this agent (HostMonitor menu LAN->RMA Agents) then you will see different error

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Other All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index