KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

SNMP Trap problem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
scheppe



Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 4:27 am    Post subject: SNMP Trap problem Reply with quote

hi guys,

hopefully you can help me with a small(for me big) problem.

i'd like to send smtp trap on some tests(on bad status) to my alarmserver. this works, but i can't send Testname or Hostname within the trap.
I read in your help that i can use macro variables within the Enterprise field, but %TestName% or %Hostname% won't work.

I get in this field on my received SNMP Trap only 0.0

Please help me soon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12062
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Enterprise is integer number, you cannot send name using this field (you can send TestID but I think its more logical to use this field as some HostMonitor ID - e.g. Enterprise=101 for all messages from HostMonitor).

Why you are not using MIB OID and MIB Value fields?
(MIB Type: OCTET STRING)

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
scheppe



Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there any other posibility to send TestName via SNMP Trap?

I can use MIB OID and MIB Values, but i don't now how i use it.

I have a normal Test Ping and how can i use MIB to send SNMP Trap to other host with TestName if bad status occurs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12062
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
is there any other posibility to send TestName via SNMP Trap?

Well, if you send SNMP Trap then you can provide data as variable within this Trap message. This is the only way and I do not see any problem with this.

Quote:
how can i use MIB to send SNMP Trap to other host with TestName if bad status occurs

Just use %TestName% as value.

Question is what to do on another end - does your alarmserver understand what to do with such Trap message and how it should be processes? Does it expect some specific Enterprise value, specific variable OID, etc?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
scheppe



Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

many thanks, that helped me so much

i have added an fictional MIB OID in action properties and put %TestName% in MIB value with OCTET STRING as MIB type as you mentioned before.

the problem was that my alerting system doesn't know about this. So i have to add a new policy in my server.

now everything is running fine.

i love KS Hostmonitor and ordered now the newest version.

The combination KS Hostmonitor with DERDACK Enterprise Alert is very powerfull and great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12062
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are welcome

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index