KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Copied tests maintain old dependancies

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pspencer008



Joined: 30 Jul 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 11:16 am    Post subject: Copied tests maintain old dependancies Reply with quote

Hi,

We are running Version 9.90 and have found a bug when copying tests.

Here is an example of our setups:

root
Server1
Test1
Test2 (This test is dependent on test1 being alive)
Test3 (This test is dependent on test2 being alive)

So I want to copy test1, 2 and 3 from server 1 and perform those tests on server 2.
So I click on server1 and say copy and give it a name of Server 2 with the 3 tests but they end up looking like this:

root
Server1
Test1
Test2 (This test is dependent on test1 being alive)
Test3 (This test is dependent on test2 being alive)
Server2
Test1
Test2 (This test is dependent on server1>test1 being alive)
Test3 (This test is dependent on server1>test2 being alive)

but what I was expecting was:

root
Server1
Test1
Test2 (This test is dependent on test1 being alive)
Test3 (This test is dependent on test2 being alive)
Server2
Test1
Test2 (This test is dependent on server2>test1 being alive)
Test3 (This test is dependent on server2>test2 being alive)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12303
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
So I want to copy test1, 2 and 3 from server 1 and perform those tests on server 2.

Do you mean you make copy and change target host name (test property)?

Quote:
So I click on server1 and say copy and give it a name of Server 2 with the 3 tests

Not sure I understand what exactly means "give it a name of Server 2".
Are you changing "host" test property? changing folder variable? May be you are copying test from one folder to another and you are using some folder-level variables?

Quote:
but they end up looking like this:

Yes, copy means just a copy, it does not mean HostMonitor will change test properties.
Not a bug.

If you want to change some test properties automatically (e.g. when you copy or move test from one folder to another), you may use special variables in some fields (like target host)
http://ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/mframe.htm#tests.htm#templates

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pspencer008



Joined: 30 Jul 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alex,

Thanks for the response, Would you be able to provide me with an example based on the following?

We have a test with a name of "%FolderFullPath% - CPU %host%" and I would like it to be dependent on a job called "%FolderFullPath% - Ping: %host%" being alive.

(It doesn't matter which way the dependency is in the example it's just to get an idea what to put in the "This test depends on Expression" field)

Thanks

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For CPU Usage test set the following options:
CommentLine5:
%FolderFullPath% - Ping %hostaddrb%
This test depends on Expression:
'%::%CommentLine5%::SimpleStatus%' == 'UP'

Note1: it is recommended to use %hostaddrb% instead of %host%, because %hostaddrb% never contains UNC backslashes.
Note2: %CommentLine5% - can be any comment line, available. Should be the same in "This test depends on Expression"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pspencer008



Joined: 30 Jul 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks very much for that
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are welcome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index