KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

SMS - Global Macro Variables

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kris



Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 312

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:18 am    Post subject: SMS - Global Macro Variables Reply with quote

Hiya all,

Somehow I seem to recall that I was able to store a GSM number in a global macro variable (something like 'udv_support_phone') and use that in a SMS alert profile in the 'Phone' field (like '%udv_support_phone%')

Anyway, it doesn't seem to work now.

Is this supposed to work?

Thanks!
Kris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12284
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it should work.

Quote:
Anyway, it doesn't seem to work now.


What exactly error do you see in the log?
What exactly action do you use?
- Send SMS (GSM)
- Send SMS (SMPP)?
HostMonitor version?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kris



Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 312

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Alex,

HM version 9.82B
Just trying to send a test message using GSM modem on COM port.
It does work when I just use a number instead of the global macro variable.

This is the log:

Code:
Sending...
Com port open .. Ok
GSM modem initialization .. Ok
Error: Cannot send message to %udv_support_phone%. GSM modem error. ERROR was returned on AT command: AT+CMGS="%udv_support_phone%",129>Message from HostMonitor (host changed status)

Test   : Server: Alive
Status: Host is alive

But everything is under control. Network administrator will fix t
Com port close .. Ok
GSM modem deinitialization .. Ok


Thanks!
Kris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12284
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We cannot reproduce the problem with "Send SMS (GSM)" action.
It looks like you are not using action - you are using "Test" function (HostMonitor Options dialog). Am I right?
Variables designed for actions, not for manual operations.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kris



Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 312

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KS-Soft wrote:
...Variables designed for actions, not for manual operations.


Ah! You're absolutely right.
Since it didn't work during the test, I didn't bother to actually implement it.

I'll try again with a real action.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index