KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

RMA services require twice daily restart

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
4P



Joined: 29 Mar 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 1:28 am    Post subject: RMA services require twice daily restart Reply with quote

Hi there,

We currently run a few RMA services on one of our remote networks.

About twice a day, a couple of the RMA's will stop responding to tests, instead replying "RMA: Cannot read data. An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host."

They will continue to do this until the rma.exe process is manually ended and the service is restarted.

Is this a known issue? We do run quite a lot of tests.

Thanks,

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What HostMonitor version do you use ?
Active or Passive RMA is used ? RMA agent version ?
RMA agent is started as Application or Service ?
Quote:
RMA: Cannot read data. An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.

This error could be caused by some 3rd party application that drops connection. Usually antivirus monitor or personal firewall leads to such problem.
Do you have any antivirus monitors, personal firewall, content monitoring software installed on these systems? Non standard winsock components?
Also, could you please check RMA logs? Is there any errors ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
4P



Joined: 29 Mar 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
What HostMonitor version do you use ?


v9.06


Quote:
Active or Passive RMA is used ? RMA agent version ?


Passive RMA. All are at v4.10 apart from one which is at 4.42. The RMAs with the problem are running on Windows Server 2003 x86.

Quote:
Do you have any antivirus monitors, personal firewall, content monitoring software installed on these systems?


No AV software, no personal firewall enabled and no monitoring software.


Quote:
Also, could you please check RMA logs? Is there any errors ?


We're seeing a lot of these errors, all the time. The IP is our HostMonitor server.

[29/03/2012 14:50] 192.168.150.1 Windows socket error: An established connection was aborted by the software in your host machine (10053), on API 'send'[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HostMonitor 9.06 comes with RMA 4.42. It is strongly recommended to use HostMonitor, RMA agents, RCC and other tools from one installation package.
Please update all RMA agents to version 4.42

Quote:
Windows socket error: An established connection was aborted by the software in your host machine (10053), on API 'send'

It definately looks like some 3rd party application drops connection.
Could you try to change TCP port used by RMA agents ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, what timeouts have you specified for RMA agent on HostMonitor and RMA side ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
4P



Joined: 29 Mar 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
HostMonitor 9.06 comes with RMA 4.42. It is strongly recommended to use HostMonitor, RMA agents, RCC and other tools from one installation package.
Please update all RMA agents to version 4.42


This was done on Friday and things do seem to have improved since then - I've not seen any RMA connection errors so far. I'll let you know how it goes,

Thanks,

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnm



Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can RMA 4.42 be used with HM v7.18?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We strongly recommend to use HostMonitor, RMA agents, RCC and other applications from one installation package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index