KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Cannot retrieve process list

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
KerryPatrick



Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:47 am    Post subject: Cannot retrieve process list Reply with quote

This past week all of our tests which are checking that a java process is running on various different servers have all changed to status:unknown. We are able to connect to the server remotely and view through system information, so the service account we are using does have permission but it seems HostMon cannot connect. If we choose the drop down which is set to java, we receieve a message saying cannot retrieve process list. Yesterday I upgraded to HM9.1.2 but the issue is still occuring
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Status is Unknown, what is Reply field ? Empty ?
Is there any other test items, setup for that server ?
Could you setup CPU Usage test for the same server ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
KerryPatrick



Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The reply field is blank. There are 5 servers affected. They all also have tests for ping, log file string search and log file not growing which are all reporting back successfully. I set up a CPU usage test on one of the servers which again gives the status of unknown, with a reply unable to locate the "Processor" performance object
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like there is problem with performance counters on remote servers.
Could you please chech if PerfProc.DLL and PersOS.dll are enabled ? If they are enabled, you may try to reenable them and restart server.
Microsoft provides "Extensible Counter List" utility.
This utility displays list of DLLs that are used to support Performance Counters, using the utility you may disable/enable specific DLLs.
You may download it at:
http://download.microsoft.com/download/win2000platform/exctrlst/1.00.0.1/NT5/EN-US/exctrlst_setup.exe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
KerryPatrick



Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have downloaded this utility which shows both files as enabled. I disabled, then re-enabled and rebooted the server but the test result is still unknown
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12063
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then you may need to rebuild corrupted performance counters as specified in the Microsoft Knowledge Base article 300956, "How to manually rebuild Performance Counter Library values" (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=3052&kbid=300956).

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KerryPatrick



Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try it but do you think it's likely this has happened on 5 different servers all at the same time?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12063
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

5 systems failed at the same time? Have you installed some software on these systems at the same time?

Quote:
with a reply unable to locate the "Processor" performance object

This error means
- HostMonitor can connect to the system
- RPC and Remote Registry services running on remote system
- but DLLs/Registry that provide performance counters do not work correctly.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KerryPatrick



Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We are unable to access processes via HostMon on any of our remote servers. We can access the processes by connecting to the remote pc though system information. On speaking to various areas, there has been no patching to servers, no additional software and no firewall change and it appears the only issue we have is connecting via HostMon. We are able to monitor processes using eG monitoring so will cease use of HostMon for these type of test in future
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12063
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you setup RMA (Remote Monitoring Agent) on remote system and try to use it for Process and CPU Usage tests?
Just for testing...
RMA: http://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/rma-win/index.htm

Another option: you may use WMI test instead of Process test.
You may get list of instances for some process using queries like
select * from Win32_PerfRawData_PerfProc_Process where name='svchost'
or
select * from Win32_Process where name='svchost.exe'

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index