KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Cannot load SSL engine: OpenSSL livraries are required
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xcentric



Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 7:56 pm    Post subject: Cannot load SSL engine: OpenSSL livraries are required Reply with quote

In the 9.02 beta when you use a remote agent to perform a certificate check it ruturns the following error.

Cannot load SSL engine: OpenSSL livraries are required.

Active agent was upgraded to v4.41.

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Copy libeay32.dll and ssleay32.dll files from HostMonitor folder to remote system where RMA is started.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xcentric



Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is working now. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JustusT



Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it also for Hostmonitor itself?
I get the error but the files are at C:\Program Files (x86)\HostMonitor8\

I just restarted the server but error keeps the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HostMonitor located in C:\Program Files (x86)\HostMonitor8\ folder?
libeay32.dll and ssleay32.dll files located in the same folder?
And HostMonitor shows "Cannot load SSL engine: OpenSSL livraries are required" error?

That's strange.
Could you please provide more information?
- HostMonitor version?
- Windows?
- Service Pack?
- HostMonitor is started as service? application?

Regards
Alex


Last edited by KS-Soft on Wed Nov 23, 2011 10:55 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PS
Did you replace libeay32.dll and ssleay32.dll files that comes with HostMonitor with some newer/older version from different software (these DLLs comes with OpenSSL)?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
JustusT



Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Alex,

libeay32.dll and ssleay32.dll files are in the same folder.
The installation is an update from 8.86 to 9.02 Beta.

Hostmon 9.02
Windows 2008 R2 SP1
i tested both: service an application
no anti virus software is installed
the server is a standalone server, fresh installed for hostmon

i replaced the dll with dll of openssl 0.9.8e
because it didnt work with the dll provied from hostmon installation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
i replaced the dll with dll of openssl 0.9.8e
because it didnt work with the dll provied from hostmon installation

Ok, for begining lets return correct DLLs.
You may remove these files, then start HostMonitor setup program and choose Update/Repair installation mode.
Then try to start HostMonitor as application. Any luck?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
JustusT



Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Really strange now it works!
just repaired the installation.

Thanks for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem
Looks like wrong DLLs were copied into HostMonitor folder somehow...

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xcentric



Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strange,

This issue has returned. Trying to use a remote active agent to execute a certificate check. Got the "cannot load ssl libraries" error. Went to the server where the remote agent is installed, it had both open ssl dll's although different from the main hostmon dir v.0.9.8e. So copied the ones from the hostmon dir which had v.1.0.2e. I restarted the agent service, test still complains that libraries are required. Also confirmed the test is configured to use the remote agent where the libraries are located.

Hostmon v10.64
Remote Active RMA v5.40

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For some reason process cannot load DLL.
What Windows do you use?
Service Pack?
Antivirus monitor?
Where exactly RMA installed (path)?
Path to DLLs?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xcentric



Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Server 2012 R2
All latest updates
ESET Business Endpoint Antivisrus
C:\Program Files (x86)\HostMonitor\RMA-Win
C:\Program Files (x86)\HostMonitor\RMA-Win

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

May be ESET got some new updates and blocks OpenSSL?
Can you try to disable it?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We tested such config (ESET, RMA, OpenSSL) on our Server2012 R2 system, works fine.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index