KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Http Status Code

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kevnad



Joined: 26 May 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 11:16 am    Post subject: Http Status Code Reply with quote

Hi
I need to know if we can obtain all of the Status Code?

Like when we received a 403, I want to receive 403.7 for example.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 2:40 pm    Post subject: Http Status Code Reply with quote

The HTTP RFC doesn't define sub-codes (like 403.7). MS IIS uses HTTP status subcodes. When IIS return HTTP status code like 403.7 the status is logged on IIS (if failed-request tracing is configured). However the subcode 403.7 is never sent as part of the final response to the request. HTTP client receives HTTP/403 code.
So, IIS simply do not send HTTP subcodes to HostMonitor or any other HTTP client.
IIS also may return HTTP page with information about HTTP status subcode. This HTTP page content can be obtained using %HttpPage% macro-variable.

Please check the manual or visit our web site for more information about %HttpPage% macro-variable:
http://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/mframe.htm#actions.htm#currmacro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kevnad



Joined: 26 May 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the answer.

i have one more question. IF I received a 403, can I use the "Check Contents" of the Advanced options of the test?

The reason is that I can't have a client certificate because it is the only security of the web site and it is very sensitive. So I need to check if I get a 403 status code, and if possible, a 403.7. When I try in IE, I see that it is written "HTTP Error 403.7 - Forbidden: SSL client certificate is required." in the page. I want to add a condition that the page should contain 403.7. That way, if we have any other 403 sub code that might indicate a real problem, I want to put the test in a Bad status.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12115
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2011 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HostMonitor does not read "page data" when server responds with error HTTP code so you cannot use "Check contents" option.
However you may set "Normal" status when server respond with HTTP code 403. Set "Use Normal status if %HTTPCode%==403" option in Test Properties dialog.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kevnad



Joined: 26 May 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2011 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the answer, we will go with the HTTP status code of 403.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index