KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Hostmon is not responding

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ron.visser



Joined: 04 Feb 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 4:01 am    Post subject: Hostmon is not responding Reply with quote

After a short while the hostmonitor application is not responding anymore.
In the system tray it looks like it's running but I can't show the gui anymore. Also it doesn't send any alarms. If I start RCC or try or start the web interface I get a connection error.
It doesn't make any difference if start it on the desktop or as a service
If I leave the GUI open It looks like that som tests keep the status Checking. With other words it hangs

Tried to install it on another system same result
disabled all the eventviewer tests same result
run the tests by an agent on the system wich have tests with status checking.

Currently I'm using hostmon 8.82 on W2003 SP2 server and using an admin account for all tests
I use the following tests
CPU usage
ODBC
check service
check UNC

In the event viewer I Find sometimes teh following Informational

The description for Event ID ( 1002 ) in Source ( HostMonService ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description;


Hope you have any idea
With kind regards
Ron Visser
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Usually such problems can be caused by firewall or antivirus monitor.

Do you have installed some antivirus monitors, personal firewall, content monitoring software? Non stanard winsock components?
What ODBC driver do you use for ODBC tests ?
Do you use ODBC logging ? What ODBC driver is used for ODBC logging ?

Also have you used HostMonitor Auditing Tool (available thru menu View)? Any warnings?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ron.visser



Joined: 04 Feb 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 2:32 am    Post subject: Hostmon is not responding Reply with quote

Our Firewall is disabled. We use AV software but on the server where hostmon is installed, is the on acces scan disabled. It only perform a full system scan weekly.

The ODBC driver, momently I use te Oracle 10.2 driver and I also used a Oracle 11.0.2 driver. I could'nt find any Oracle logging with a relation to the problems.

In the auditing tool are no messages. Does it keep a history?

Currently I'm only checking (by agent) 1 system and it works fine.
I add some test's and see what's gonna happen

Kind regards Ron Visser
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:10 am    Post subject: Hostmon is not responding Reply with quote

Quote:
We use AV software but on the server where hostmon is installed, is the on acces scan disabled. It only perform a full system scan weekly.

What exactly AV do you use ?
Quote:
In the auditing tool are no messages. Does it keep a history?

No, it shows actual state.
Quote:
The ODBC driver, momently I use te Oracle 10.2 driver and I also used a Oracle 11.0.2 driver. I could'nt find any Oracle logging with a relation to the problems.

Oracle clients 10 and 11 often lead to problems, while version 9 is most stable. Could you try to downgrade Oracle client to 9 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ron.visser



Joined: 04 Feb 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:04 am    Post subject: Hostmon not responding Reply with quote

The AV = McAfee 8.7.0.570 (Enterprise server)
Downgrade to Oracle client 9 is not an option. maybe i'll try this on a testsystem.

At te moment it is still running without ODBC tests

Will it help if I use an agent to perform the ODBC test?

Kind regards Ron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
At te moment it is still running without ODBC tests

and HostMonito works fine?

Quote:
Will it help if I use an agent to perform the ODBC test?

This may help to localize the problem. You may setup RMA to perform ODBC tests (its pretty easy, you may select set of tests and change "Test by" property for all ODBC tests at once). If HostMonitor will works just fine while RMA will crash, then we will know for sure - problem caused by ODBC test.
Also you may setup additional test that will check resources used by RMA; e.g. you may setup 2 WMI tests using queries like
select HandleCount from Win32_Process where caption='rma.exe'
select ThreadCount from Win32_Process where caption='rma.exe'


Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index