KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

SNMP GET problems

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tropinkin



Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 7:26 am    Post subject: SNMP GET problems Reply with quote

Problems with APC NetBotz device.

Have APC device with 2 temperature sensors.

In MIB browser found:
.iso.org.dod.internet.private.enterprises.netBotzAPC.netBotz.netBotzSensors.netBotzNumericSensors.tempSensorTable.tempSensorEntry.tempSensorValueStr

OID: .1.3.6.1.4.1.5528.100.4.1.1.1.7

Pressing "Get next" button in window I see:
[1.3.6.1.4.1.5528.100.4.1.2.1.2.2804425567] = 24.700000
Pressing again "Get next", receiving:
[1.3.6.1.4.1.5528.100.4.1.1.1.7.2628357572] = 24.200000
It's correct..

First sensor everytime works correct, but when I select OID of second sensor and press "Get Value" I get error "Incorrect OID".

I tried connect many sensors, problem everytime just with last sensor.

For example if connect 4 sensors, problem with getting value just №4

It shows value only when I press "Get Next" on previous sensor.

I tried different other MIB browsers, all works correct. Zabbix monitoring shows correct value too. I tried monitor 2 different NetBotz devices, error appears on both and just with Host-Monitor.

Any ideas?

PS I tried trial Host-Monitor and want to boy it, if this problem will be resolved. Maybe some limitations of trial version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, its not limitation of trial version.
As I understand you have problem with MIB Browser only, HostMonitor returns correct value when you specify correct OID?
Can we access your device for testing? You may send IP address, port and other parameters to support@ks-soft.net

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tropinkin



Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, HM says "No such name".. And then when I press "Browse MIBs" says "Incorrect OID value".
Sorry, device located in bank's network without Internet access.

MIB browser:

returns value only on "GetNext", on "Get" fails.

Device page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you please try the following update: www.ks-soft.net/download/hm855c.zip
Just unzip the files and replace current hostmon.exe and rcc.exe modules.

Please install official release 8.54 before applying this update.
(I think you already using version 8.54?)

If this apdate will work fine with your device, we will modify MIB Browser as well.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tropinkin,
Language of this forum - English

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tropinkin



Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, still doesn't work.

The same error.

Other MIB tools works fine.

For example query result of MG-SOF MIB Browser:
222: enterprises.5528.100.4.1.1.1.7.1619732064 (octet string) 23.700000 [32.33.2E.37.30.30.30.30.30 (hex) Size = 9]

HM says "SNMP Error: no value retutned"

Maybe I can make some tests to help you find the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can help if you provide access to the device...
Ok, we will try to emulate such problem. I will let you know ASAP

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is new update at the same location: www.ks-soft.net/download/hm855c.zip
Please let us know how it works with SNMP agent.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tropinkin



Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! It works now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zorzonika



Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:35 am    Post subject: same problem i have with dell power connect 3024 Reply with quote

- i use a free version of ks hostmonitor, and i have next errors :

http://sel.ro/ks/ks1.JPG
http://sel.ro/ks/ks2.JPG
http://sel.ro/ks/ks3.JPG

- is strange because in mib browser the OID whos working when i push "get value " in hostmonitor is giving " snmp error no such name"
- any ideea ?

thx anticipated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:27 am    Post subject: same problem i have with dell power connect 3024 Reply with quote

MIB Browser uses Windows API which does not work correctly in some cases.
E.g. if you request some OID and there is no such counter because correct index is different, SNMP agent returns nearest valid counter (so it performs SNMP GETNEXT request instead of GET request), MIB Browser will return not requested but nearest valid counter.
While HostMonitor will check for specific counter only.
In such case, we recommend to use GET NEXT function of MIB BROWSER to retrieve valid counter.
As I see from your screenshot, GET NEXT function returns values for valid counter: 1.3.6.1.4.1.674.10895.1.11.6.1.10.1
while you are trying to get values for counters that does not exist:
1.3.6.1.4.1.674.10895.1.11.6.1.10.01.0
1.3.6.1.4.1.674.10895.1.11.6.1.10.1.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
zorzonika



Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:41 am    Post subject: is true Reply with quote

- but when i put OID in camp "Alert when OID" even i put manually 1.3.6.1.4.1.674.10895.1.11.6.1.10.1, it will transform automaticaly 1.3.6.1.4.1.674.10895.1.11.6.1.10.1.0 ( with .0 ) and i dont understand why ... and when i use button " Get value " i get message like in pics number 3 ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I assume you marked "Automatically append the single instance sub-identifier (.0)" option. You may disable it.
Option located on Misc page in HostMonitor Options dialog

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zorzonika



Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:01 pm    Post subject: true again Reply with quote

- now is work, but this option was marked to resolve another problem with a CTC FRM401, i will test tomorow again and return some ss with the FRM401 error, and hope to be only my imagination ...

thx anticipated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can add ".0" manually to any OID so this option is not really necessary.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index