KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

"Agent already connected!" after restart
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bbackx



Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:52 am    Post subject: "Agent already connected!" after restart Reply with quote

When I restart a remote agent, I get the following error in the log files:
IP-address: RMA IP-address: Agent "agent name" already connected!

The only solution seems to be restarting the HostMonitor server (service)

Both HostMonitor server and the server with the remote agent are servers with Windows Server 2008 R2 64bit as OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What version of HostMonitor and RMA do you use?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bbackx



Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Latest versions, Host Monitor 8.28 and RMA version 4.00

gr,
Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We cannot reproduce this problem on any of any systems including Windows 2008 64bit.
Do you have installed some antivirus monitors, personal firewall, content monitoring software? Non stanard winsock components?
Could you install HostMonitor on Windows 2003?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stoltze



Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also sometimes see this.

I'm only running on W2K3 32bit standard servers

Don't think, I can reproduce this problem, but will see, if I can find some common thing, when this occurs..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Don't think, I can reproduce this problem, but will see

Probably because it was fixed? There was mistake in the code long time ago. I think it was fixed in version 7.00...
Have you seen this problem recently?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stoltze



Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KS-Soft wrote:
Have you seen this problem recently?
Yesterday, 485 times, after some network issues.. Version 8.29
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbackx



Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KS-Soft wrote:
We cannot reproduce this problem on any of any systems including Windows 2008 64bit.
Do you have installed some antivirus monitors, personal firewall, content monitoring software? Non stanard winsock components?
Could you install HostMonitor on Windows 2003?

Regards
Alex


The Antivirus we use is eTrust Antivirus from Computer Associates. Firewall is in both cases a hardware-device (Cisco ASA). No content monitoring and non standard winsock components as far as I know...

gr,
Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Yesterday, 485 times, after some network issues.. Version 8.29

Do you know how we can reproduce the problem?
Do you have installed some antivirus monitor, personal firewall? Could you try to disable it?

Theoretically if there is some network or 3rd party software problem, HostMonitor may not receive TCP FIN packet and connection will be open for a while. However HostMonitor sends special "idle" packets to the agent so it should drop connection when RMA does not respond.
That's why we do not understand how this may happen
We are checking code but everything looks fine so far.

Do you see agent in "RMA server status" window after disconnection (menu View->Active RMA status)?

Quote:
The Antivirus we use is eTrust Antivirus from Computer Associates.

Could you try to disable it for testing?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bbackx



Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KS-Soft wrote:
Could you try to disable it for testing?

Disabled anti-virus on agent and server and firewall on the server, but the problem remained
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbackx



Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps interesting to know: I tested the agent on a 32-bit server (win2k3), and this gives no problem with reconnecting.

Also, getting a reply back from a shell-script is problematic on a 64-bit server with windows 2008 R2 (as in: no reply at all, script restarted every second or so). The same script works without problems on a 32-bit windows 2003 machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Also, getting a reply back from a shell-script is problematic on a 64-bit server with windows 2008 R2 (as in: no reply at all, script restarted every second or so). The same script works without problems on a 32-bit windows 2003 machine.

Not sure I understand the problem. HostMonitor does not "restart" any scripts. If you tell HostMonitor to perform test every 5 min, HostMonitor will start test (script) 1 time every 5 min. If you setup test to be executed every seconds, then yes, HostMonitor will start script every second.
Could you please explain the problem in details using different topic?
What exactly means "no reply at all"? What is test status? What message do you see in Reply field of the test?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, we were able to reproduce the problem on one of our XP systems. Somehow Winsock send function does not return any error while it should...

Could you please try update available at www.ks-soft.net/download/hm830.zip
If restarted RMA will not be able to connect to HostMonitor right away, just wait a minute for 2nd or 3rd attempt.

If this will help, this means
1) Something is wrong with your network, system or some 3rd party software. HostMonitor does not receive TCP FIN packet when RMA closes connection (there is no mistake in RMA code because when you close application Windows should close all used connection anyway, even if application does not do this).
Such sitution is "normal" when you unplug network cable or some packets lost in transmission from one network to another but its not normal if this happens everytime you close/restart agent.
2) Somehow Winsock API send() does not detect the problem either. Perhaps some timeouts are too high....

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bbackx



Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KS-Soft wrote:
Not sure I understand the problem. HostMonitor does not "restart" any scripts. If you tell HostMonitor to perform test every 5 min, HostMonitor will start test (script) 1 time every 5 min. If you setup test to be executed every seconds, then yes, HostMonitor will start script every second.
Could you please explain the problem in details using different topic?
What exactly means "no reply at all"? What is test status? What message do you see in Reply field of the test?

The test is setup to run every hour.
The message in the reply field is: Error: script returns no results.
The number of recurrences increases fast (at a rate of about one per second).
The same script gives no problems on an 32-bit machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbackx



Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KS-Soft wrote:
Ok, we were able to reproduce the problem on one of our XP systems. Somehow Winsock send function does not return any error while it should...

Could you please try update available at www.ks-soft.net/download/hm830.zip
If restarted RMA will not be able to connect to HostMonitor right away, just wait a minute for 2nd or 3rd attempt.


3rd attempt was succesfull.
I'll see if I can find another 64-bit machine to test on, see if this gives the same issues...
(probably my other problem is related with this)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index