KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Distributed Monitoring or Client Server type setup
Goto page 1, 2  Next

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KS-Soft Forum Index -> HostMonitor
View previous topic :: View next topic  
eNet

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2003 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello! I'm new to Host Monitor... I just came across it earlier this week and really like it so far!

I have a scenario that I would like to know if HM can support and/or if there is a possibility for a future enhancement.

We have 6 offices that each have their own file server that I am the admin for, each has an internet connection, and each has a firewall.

In my office, I would like to have HM perform monitoring functions through the internet/firewall at the remote locations without having to open up all of the ports (like 137, 138, 139) to the internet.

Is there a way to have remote machines with HM report their test status' back to one primary HM machine?

If not, a possible feature that would be extremely beneficial (in our case) would be something of this sort:

Host Monitor could have two additional fields on the test screen. One for a Yes or No choice for "Perform Test Remotely", and a second to contain a DNS name or IP address of the remote machine. Possibly a third field could be added for a password or some security identifier that the client piece could validate before performing the test.

The remote machine could then have a client program or service that would accept a Host Monitor test parameter information, perform the test, and return a status back to the Host Monitor machine at the main office.

The flow would work like this: