KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Scheduled Tasks check
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Library
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11934
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 6:14 pm    Post subject: Scheduled Tasks check Reply with quote

Utility that may check status of scheduled tasks available at
www.ks-soft.net/download/utils/schtaskcheck.zip
This is command line utility that can be used with Shell Script test method
http://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/mframe.htm#tests.htm#chkShell

Usage: schtaskcheck.exe -task:<task_name> -timeframe:<time_interval> [-host:<hostname>] [-user:<username>] [-pswd:<password>] [-ignoreres]

There are 2 mandatory command line parameters:
-task: Scheduled task name
-timeframe: Specifies time interval when the task was expected to be excuted. Interval specified in minutes. E.g. -timeframe:60 means scheduled task had to be executed within last hour.
Also there are several predefined constants you may use: today, yesterday, this_week, last_week, this_month and last_month

3 optional parameters:
-host: Specifies the name or IP address of a remote computer, with or without backslash characters. If omitted, utility checks the local computer
-user: Run the utility with the permission of the specified user account
-pswd: Specifies the password of the user account that is specified in the -user parameter
-ignoreres: This option suppresses additional check for last exit code. If omitted, utility checks task exit code and returns Bad status when exitcode<>0

Examples:
schtaskcheck -task:"Daily Backup" -timeframe:120
schtaskcheck -task:check_log -timeframe:today -host:Second_Server
schtaskcheck -task:check_log -timeframe:today -host:ftp.corp.com -user:admin
schtaskcheck -task:AV_update -timeframe:yesterday -host:192.168.1.100 -user:dsma -pswd:secretphrase -ignoreres

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vpavel



Joined: 30 Oct 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When i am trying to monitor schedule tasks execution in different time zone , i receive BAD result becouse of time difference.It doesn't work even after upgrade to last 7.24 version.I use custom folder GMT setting.But shell script execute test with local time

[11:40:06 AM] Script executed, correct result received:
----------
- Status: Bad
- Reply: 15.07.2008 19:38:00 Last Result : 1

Can you fix it please ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11934
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Folder-level "GMT offset" option has nothing to do with external utilities like schtaskcheck.exe. This option affects GUI, reports, schedules.

In many cases you can adjust "timeframe" parameter of the test to make it work. However we added new option "-remotegmt" that allows you to specify GMT offset on target server (minutes).
E.g.
-remotegmt:-300 specified Easter Time zone (GMT -05:00)
-remotegmt:+540 specified Tokyo/Seoul time (GMT +09:00)

New version of the utility available at www.ks-soft.net/download/utils/schtaskcheck.zip

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vpavel



Joined: 30 Oct 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greyhat64



Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 245
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alex,
Thanks! I had written a script to do this via WMI, but I think I like this better.
Though, if you keep this up, I'm gonna need to occupy my time doing something other that script writing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Marcel_vrinds



Joined: 13 Jan 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I am using this tool, but i get "error: script returns no results"

Started schtaskcheck on the active rma side. If i start a cmd screen on the rma side, i get; ScriptRes:Bad:13-1-2010 19:50:28. So that is good! but why don't i get the info in the hostmonitor.

Can someone help me.

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11934
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What version of HostMonitor do you use? RMA?
Windows version on system where RMA is running? Service Pack?
Can this agent perform any other Shell Script test without problem?

Regards
Aex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Marcel_vrinds



Joined: 13 Jan 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Thanks for the quick reaction

Hostmonitor 8.14 and RMA 3.35

Hostmonitor is running on sbs2003 with all sp's and updates
RMA is running on server 2003 r2 with all updates

This is the first shell script that i am using.

Thanks,

Marcel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11934
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I missed your answer.
Could you please try to setup some other Shell Script test? HostMonitor provides several samples, you may use simply VB or Java script, even BAT file.
This way we will know is problem related to schtaskcheck.exe utility or there is some problem related to external program execution.

What account do you use to run agent?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YG



Joined: 03 Sep 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:05 pm    Post subject: If it's not to much to ask Reply with quote

I am a newbie admin and I am in need of some help on the Scheduled task check test.
Would somebody be so kind to give me an example of the script to check if the scheduled task with the name “File Transfer to AOD“ completed by a certain time ( for example: it starts at 12AM Eastern Standard Time and has to be completed by 5AM ). No matter what I do I can’t make it work.
Your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11934
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you setup Shell Script test to be executed every day at 5:01AM using command for the script like
schtaskcheck.exe "-task:File Transfer to AOD“ -timeframe:today -host:hostname -user:username -pswd:password

Quote:
I can’t make it work.

Could you please be more specific? What exactly parameters for the script do you use and what exactly is test result (status and reply)?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YG



Joined: 03 Sep 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your help. I will try that.
The problem was after I clicked on the "let's try" it was not recognizing the scheduled task name.
I can see now that you put the " before -task, I had it after -task like this:
-task "File transfer to AOD" because that's how it was shown in the example in the beginning of the forum. I will try it your way let you know what happened.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
YG



Joined: 03 Sep 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It appears to be a Windows Server 2008 R2 issue. The script runs fine against Server 2003 Scheduled tasks but fails to recognize then on 2008. Any ideas how to use them on 2008 R2 scheduled task?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11934
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am afraid we need to create different utility for Windows 2008.
On the other hand, if you need to check local system or you can install RMA on target system, then you may use script like the following
Code:

Option Explicit

const statusAlive       = "scriptRes:Host is alive:"
const statusDead        = "scriptRes:No answer:"
const statusUnknown     = "scriptRes:Unknown:"
const statusNotResolved = "scriptRes:Unknown host:"
const statusOk          = "scriptRes:Ok:"
const statusBad         = "scriptRes:Bad:"
const statusBadContents = "scriptRes:Bad contents:"

Dim objArgs, fnd
fnd = 0
Set objArgs = WScript.Arguments

if objArgs.count <> 2 then
    WScript.StdOut.Write statusUnknown & "2 arguments expected <TaskName> <timeframe>"
End if

Dim service
' Create the TaskService object.
Set service = CreateObject("Schedule.Service")
call service.Connect()

' Get the task folder that contains the tasks.
Dim rootFolder
Set rootFolder = service.GetFolder("\")
 
Dim taskCollection
Set taskCollection = rootFolder.GetTasks(0)

If taskCollection.Count = 0 Then
    WScript.StdOut.Write statusUnknown & "No tasks are registered."
Else
    Dim registeredTask
    Dim D1, D1D, Dif
    For Each registeredTask In taskCollection
    if registeredTask.Name = objArgs(0) then
        fnd = fnd + 1
        D1 = registeredTask.LastRunTime
        D1D = CDate(D1)
        Dif = DateDiff("n", D1D, Now())
        if Dif > Int(objArgs(1)) then
            WScript.StdOut.Write statusBad & "Last Run: " & Dif & " min"
        Else
            WScript.StdOut.Write statusOk & "Last Run: " & Dif & " min"
        End If

    End If
    Next

    if fnd = 0 then
        WScript.StdOut.Write statusUnknown & "Task " & objArgs(0) & " NOT found."
    End If
End If

Script requires 2 parameters: taskname and timeframe (specified in minutes). E.g. "File Transfer to AOD" 300
Command line to start script: cmd /c cscript /B /E:VBScript %Script% %Params%

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11934
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW: We can modify script so it will request data from remote system or you can modify it by yourself (using hostname, login and password parameters for call service.Connect procedure call)

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Library All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index