RMA for QNX

Remote Monitoring Agent for Linux, FreeBSD, and other UNIX-like platforms.
Post Reply
Igorek
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Russia

RMA for QNX

Post by Igorek »

Whether there is agent for QNX6?
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

If you can provide telnet access to your QNX system with GCC compiler installed, we will try to compile agent for you.
We plan to install QNX on our systems but we a little busy these days...

Regards
Alex
Igorek
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Russia

Post by Igorek »

Ours QNX6 systems are not connected to the Internet.
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

RMA for QNX (i386) Beta available at http://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/downpage.htm#unix

Regards
Alex
Igorek
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Russia

Post by Igorek »

Thank you.
I have just installed the QNX agent . There are some errorrs.

1. CPUUsageScript does not support QNX (cpu.sh)
2. CountFiles test does not consider the files which are not containing a "dot"
3. Ping test is not realized
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

1. CPUUsageScript does not support QNX (cpu.sh)
That's because we don't know how to check CPU load on QNX :-(
Do you know how? Please tell us.
2. CountFiles test does not consider the files which are not containing a "dot"
What file name mask do you use? "*.*"? If you want to calculate all files, use "*", just like on any other UNIX-like system.
3. Ping test is not realized
RMA for Linux, BSD, AIX, Solaris does not provide such test either because its easy to implement using Shell Script. Actually HostMonitor provides Ping script for UNIX since version 4.30

So, everything works fine?

Regards
Alex
Igorek
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Russia

Post by Igorek »

KS-Soft wrote:That's because we don't know how to check CPU load on QNX :-(
Do you know how? Please tell us.
You can try to use wrapper for "hogs -%1".
KS-Soft wrote:What file name mask do you use? "*.*"? If you want to calculate all files, use "*", just like on any other UNIX-like system.
Sorry, my fault.
RMA for Linux, BSD, AIX, Solaris does not provide such test either because its easy to implement using Shell Script. Actually HostMonitor provides Ping script for UNIX since version 4.30
What is the name or contents of this script?
KS-Soft Europe
Posts: 2832
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 4:41 am
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft Europe »

Igorek wrote:What is the name or contents of this script?
Here is the one:
Start cmd: %Script% %Params%
Script:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

ping -c $2 -w $3 $1 1> /dev/null 2> /dev/null
if [ $? -eq 0 ]
then
  echo "ScriptRes:Host is alive:"
else
  echo "ScriptRes:No answer:"
fi
Script requires 3 parameters: <host> <retries> <timeout

Regards,
Max
KS-Soft Europe
Posts: 2832
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 4:41 am
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft Europe »

Igorek wrote:You can try to use wrapper for "hogs -%1".
We have tried hogs utility. However, it works continually and there are no any parameters to make it perform only one iteration. So, it seems problematic to write script to calculate hogs's output. Probably, you have any other ideas?

Regards,
Max
Igorek
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Russia

Post by Igorek »

You can try to use this script:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

hogs | while read line
do

if [ -z "$line" ]
then
  break
fi

pid=`echo $line | awk '{print $1}'`

if [ "$pid" == "PID" ] || [ "$pid" == "1" ]
then
  continue
fi

echo $line | awk '{print $4}' | sed 's/\%//'

done | awk 'BEGIN {load=0} {load+=$1} END {print load}'

exit 0
KS-Soft Europe
Posts: 2832
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 4:41 am
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft Europe »

Thank you! It works!
To make it work with HostMonitor, you may copy foregoing script into qnx_cpu.sh file and place it into rma's folder. Also you should add just one line into cpu.sh script: QNX) ./qnx_cpu.sh;;

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
# --------------------------------------
# this gives CPU load for last 1 sec

OS=`uname`
case $OS in
  AIX) vmstat 1 2 | tail -1 | awk '{print $(NF-5)+$(NF-4)}';;
  Linux)   vmstat -n 1 2 | tail -1 | awk '{print $(NF-3)+$(NF-2)}';;
  QNX) ./qnx_cpu.sh;;
  FreeBSD) vmstat -c 2 -w 1 | tail -1 | awk '{print 100-$NF}';;
  NetBSD)  vmstat -c 2 -w 1 | tail -1 | awk '{print 100-$NF}';;
  OpenBSD) vmstat -c 2 -w 1 | tail -1 | awk '{print 100-$NF}';;
  SunOS) vmstat 1 2 | tail -1 | awk '{print 100-$NF}';; 
  HP-UX) vmstat 1 2 | tail -1 | awk '{print 100-$NF}';; 
  *) echo 'unsupported OS';;
esac

# --------------------------------------
Thank you very much for your help.

Regards,
Max
Post Reply