RMA for Sparc Solaris

Remote Monitoring Agent for Linux, FreeBSD, and other UNIX-like platforms.
eviltommy69
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 10:37 am

RMA for Sparc Solaris

Post by eviltommy69 »

I'm testing the RMA for SPARC and I've found some issues already. First, the cpu.sh is using SAR, which doesn't run unless you setup your systems for performance statistics. I changed the script to use vmstat like the other Unix OS's, and it works great.

SunOS) vmstat 1 2 | tail -1 | awk '{print 100-$NF}';;

Also, I have some large UFS filesystems (connected to a Clariion) that are showing UNC percentages wrong. One of them indicates 189% available. It should be showing 12%. I have another indicating 49% available, when it should be 6%. How does the RMA calculate free space?
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

SunOS) vmstat 1 2 | tail -1 | awk '{print 100-$NF}';;
Thank you for correction
Also, I have some large UFS filesystems (connected to a Clariion) that are showing UNC percentages wrong. One of them indicates 189% available. It should be showing 12%. I have another indicating 49% available, when it should be 6%. How does the RMA calculate free space?
RMA for SunOs uses code like

Code: Select all

struct statvfs statbuf;
  if (statvfs(path, &statbuf)==0)
  {
     long int blocksize = (statbuf.f_frsize>0)?(statbuf.f_frsize):(statbuf.f_bsize);
     total = statbuf.f_blocks * blocksize;
     free  = statbuf.f_bfree  * blocksize;
     freeforuser = statbuf.f_bavail * blocksize;
     return True;
  }
  else return False;
total, free, freeforuser defined as "double" (because some C compilers does not support "long long" type)
How big is your filesystem?

Regards
Alex
eviltommy69
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 10:37 am

Post by eviltommy69 »

The two filesystems are 24GB and 47GB.
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

What if you configure UNC test to show absolute size (Mg, Gb)? What values will be displayed by HostMonitor?

Regards
Alex
eviltommy69
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 10:37 am

Post by eviltommy69 »

Filesystem#1 (24GB):
HM indicates 49% available, or 1831mb
SunOS indicates 6% available, or 1628mb

Filesystem#2 (48GB):
HM indicates 188% available, or 2470mb
SunOS indicates 22% available, or 10444mb

This is a Solaris 9 OS, and both of the filesystems are UFS.
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

Looks like problem in statbuf.f_frsize and statbuf.f_bsize variables.
Sun documentation doesn't really describe difference. RMA uses code that was recommended in several newsgroups, but how it should really work...
Could you provide telnet access to your system?

Regards
Alex
eviltommy69
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 10:37 am

Post by eviltommy69 »

Unfortunately, no...sorry.
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

Probably we can make small test program to check what is going on...
Will you compile it?

Regards
Alex
eviltommy69
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 10:37 am

Post by eviltommy69 »

Yep, I can do that.
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

Great, please give me some time to create that test program

Regards
Alex
oliverdesouza
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:08 am

Any updates?

Post by oliverdesouza »

Hi
I am really interested to know the outcome of this thread.
I just setup the RMA 0.80 for Solaris agent to run on my solaris 9 box. However hostmon is reporting different disk capacity results than the solaris.

Filesystem (8GB):
HM indicates 71% available, or 2851MB
SunOS indicates 86% available, or 6866MB
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

I think we fixed that issue but we do not have SPARC system to recompile agent. Could you provide telnet/ftp access to some SPARC system?

Regards
Alex
oliverdesouza
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:08 am

Post by oliverdesouza »

Hi thanks for the prompt reply!

i'm very sorry but telnet/ftp access is not allowed. However , if u'd like me to compile the RMA code on the sparc server (or any code relating to this issue), i'd be more than willing. I've also sent an email to support@ks-soft.net about that possibility..
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

Ok. I have sent source codes to your e-mail address.

Regards
Alex
vidyagana
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 10:35 am

Post by vidyagana »

I am having a similar problem where my disk space is reported wrongly. What was the solution ?
Post Reply