KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

PIng fails

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jimmmmm



Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:09 am    Post subject: PIng fails Reply with quote

Hello to the forum
I just installed the ip tools v2.40 a few minutes ago. I think its a very usefull tools and it can give you a lot of details about your network.
Although the ping command doesn't work.
I read on an article that
"if you have a different IP stack, without icmp.dll, traceroute and ping will fail, but everything else should work and thats exaclty what happening.
If a ping a host from the programe i get a no reply answer but if i use the command prompt and ping the same host it works.

ANy advice ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12260
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually this forum for HostMonitor. IP-Tools' forum below...
Anyway, do you see any error/warning messages at startup?
What Windows do you use? Service Pack?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12260
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PS
IP-Tools 2.50 available at http://www.ks-soft.net/ip-tools.eng/downpage.htm

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jimmmmm



Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i downloaded the ip tools software and i experience exatcly the sample problem
I get no reply on the ping service
i work on winxp sp2 and i am behind a software firewall
no errors when i launch the programe
please keep focus on these sentse
Thesse must have something to do with
"if you have a different IP stack, without icmp.dll, traceroute and ping will fail, but everything else should work"
Thanks for u replays
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12260
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
"if you have a different IP stack, without icmp.dll, traceroute and ping will fail, but everything else should work"


Where do you see this phrase?
Its true, but:
- if system does not have ICMP.DLL, IP-Tools will display error message at startup
- Windows XP professional SP2 has ICMP.DLL and IP-Tools works fine on XP SP2
Probably your system has ICMP.DLL but it does not really works (stub module)?

Questions:
- are you using Windows XP Professional? Or XP Home?
- do you have "different IP stack"? not from Microsoft?

BTW: XP Home does not have many functions that provided by "normal" Windows. We never tested IP-Tools on XP Home and we will not support this platform.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jimmmmm



Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i work on windows professional
i checked my pc and the icmp.dll is located in the system32 folder
by the command prompt i can ping hosts without problem

how can i check if it is working? and what is taht stub module?

thanks thanks thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12260
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

May be some router does pass small echo packets but does not pass larger packets? Or may be timeout too short?
Could you try to use different Ping/Trace settings (Options dialog)? Try to ping different site.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12260
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
how can i check if it is working? and what is taht stub module?


If you have normal Windows winsock, its working.
I don't know why you said about some "different IP stack" Why?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jimmmmm



Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i found it here
http://www.samspade.org/ssw/requirements.html
sorry


Last edited by jimmmmm on Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12260
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.samspade.org/ssw/requirements.htm
Page not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jimmmmm



Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i will try to install it tomorrow on a win98 system that i installed in a small network
I hope it will work there, to be able to investigate their network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bk280179



Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think i can help you solving this problem.

- First rightclick your network connection
- than properties
- go to the advanced tab
- click on settings
- also to the advanced tab
- at the ICMP area click on settings
- check the first checkbox... allow echos...
- thats it...

Regards
Björn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index