KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Testresult with CRLF not correct
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
plambrecht



Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 151
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 4:41 am    Post subject: Testresult with CRLF not correct Reply with quote

Hi,

When I have a test (shell script) that returns a CRLF in a reply, all info after the CRLF is removed from the Reply.

eg : scriptres:OK:Incomplete<crlf>Error: Tape not found

Is there a way to have this fixed ?

Or can we have HTML email messages ?
I see that you send a "Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1""
Could you add an option to specifiy "Content-Type: text/html"
that way I can add "<br>" in stead of "CRLF"

P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12141
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
When I have a test (shell script) that returns a CRLF in a reply, all info after the CRLF is removed from the Reply.
Is there a way to have this fixed ?


This is correct behavior. Script should return result in single line.

- Fix? No. If we change this behavior (use more lines), some other scripts that other customers have written may work incorrectly.

- Some workaround? H'm... Yes, probably we can implement HTML e-mail... need to check

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
plambrecht



Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 151
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
This is correct behavior. Script should return result in single line.

Checked the way the tmp files are generated.. looks obvious now...

Quote:
Some workaround? H'm... Yes, probably we can implement HTML e-mail... need to check

It is possible to select the charcode for an email template... maybe just add 'html' to that list ?

One more thing, my Temp folder is piling up with tmp files, generated bij the Agent... Shouldn't they be removed after the test (shell script) has returned the result ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12141
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, there is update at www.ks-soft.net/download/hm481.zip
Add "HTMLMail=1" into [SMTP] section of the hostmon.ini file.
Please note: you will need to redesign your mail profiles.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12141
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
One more thing, my Temp folder is piling up with tmp files, generated bij the Agent... Shouldn't they be removed after the test (shell script) has returned the result ?


Yes, they should be removed.
Cannot reproduce this problem on my system.
As usualy need more information
- Windows version?
- Service Pack?
- RMA version?
- started as service or application?
- account?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
plambrecht



Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 151
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RMA:
- Win2K3, fully patched
- RMA 2.00
- as administrator
HM:
- W2K3 Fully patched
- 4.80
- as service as administrator

I have the problem only on one or 2 of my RMA servers.
When this happens, the test gives an RMA error 301 - script timeout
Timeout is set to 2 minutes on script and on the RMA.

My script uses the RegOBJ.dll, maybe it has to do with that dll. It is an ActiveX to access the registry on a remote machine.

P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
plambrecht



Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 151
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KS-Soft wrote:
Ok, there is update at www.ks-soft.net/download/hm481.zip
Add "HTMLMail=1" into [SMTP] section of the hostmon.ini file.
Please note: you will need to redesign your mail profiles.


Alex. Thx alot ! this adds a great value to my alerts that I can send...
Nice formatted HTML docs....

thx

P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12141
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Alex. Thx alot ! this adds a great value to my alerts that I can send...
Nice formatted HTML docs....


I think official release will provide HTML/Text option separately for each mail profile.
We will need to change macro resolving depending on this option. E.g. "CPU <local comp>" test name should be resolved to "CPU &lt;local comp&gt;" and so on...

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12141
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I have the problem only on one or 2 of my RMA servers.
When this happens, the test gives an RMA error 301 - script timeout
Timeout is set to 2 minutes on script and on the RMA.


Looks like Windows locks file for a while AFTER process is terminated.
Try this update www.ks-soft.net/download/rma202.zip

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12141
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, how new RMA works on your system?

There is update at www.ks-soft.net/download/hm484.zip
It allows you to specify Text/HTML option for each mail template and resolves test related macro variables according to that option.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
plambrecht



Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 151
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2004 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
So, how new RMA works on your system?


Looks like a great improvement... all expect one test are completed...

thx for the quick response !! I still don't regret choosing HM over a lot of other monitoring tools (N-Able, Monitormagic,...)

P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
plambrecht



Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 151
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2004 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
There is update at www.ks-soft.net/download/hm484.zip
It allows you to specify Text/HTML option for each mail template and resolves test related macro variables according to that option.

Thx thx thx !

Do I still need that HTMLMail=1" into [SMTP] section or is that obsolete now

P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12141
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2004 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Do I still need that HTMLMail=1" into [SMTP] section or is that obsolete now


It is obsolete now

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
plambrecht



Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 151
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
We will need to change macro resolving depending on this option. E.g. "CPU <local comp>" test name should be resolved to "CPU &lt;local comp&gt;" and so on


Hm... messed up my idea

My idea was to have a reply generated by my script that contains HTML formatting...

like 'Successful<brt>Errors/warnings: 0/4<br>W0001 - some warning msg<br>W0001 - some warning msg<br>W0001 - some warning msg<br>W0001 - some warning msg'

With the first html capability, it worked as expected, but now the < and > are translated to &lt; and &gt;.....

any suggestions on a workaround or improvement ?

P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12141
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote from future manual:
Quote:
If you choose HTML option for mail template, HostMonitor will resolve test related macro variables according to HTML encoding rules. E.g. test name “<local comp>” will be translated to “&lt;local comp&gt;”. User defined variables and folder related variables would be substituted as is. This allows you to use folder comments and user defined macro variables to store HTML code (can be used as styles).


It means you may use some user defined variable instead of <br>. Like Successful%HTMLBR%Errors/warnings: 0/4%HTMLBR%W0001 - some warning msg%HTMLBR%W0001 - some warning msg%HTMLBR%W0001 - some warning msg%HTMLBR%W0001 - some warning msg
Where %HTMLBR% should be defined in User Defined Variables dialog as <br>

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index