KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Map support
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Wish list
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ProZa



Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Perm, Russia

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2004 12:54 am    Post subject: Map support Reply with quote

What about subj?
My company has huge network infrastucture, and it would be great to have some visual representation of our devices and their interconnecton.

May be as a plug-in or another kind of external program...

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11888
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2004 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, but I don't think this option will be implemented in nearest versions.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ProZa



Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Perm, Russia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. But are you going to work on it at all?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11888
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This task marked as "suggestion for version 5". It means "may be we implement this option, may be not".

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hmo



Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 81
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ProZa wrote:
OK. But are you going to work on it at all?


I dont know how you have made the "build" of your HostMonitor, ie. how you make devices etc. But you can take the config-file and build a
map automatic into WhatsUp - in that case you'll have a visual map that
only show "ping" responses... but very effective when searching for a
specific outage somewhere in your network!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ProZa



Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Perm, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2004 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Extra soft means extra money
In addtion, I need exactly the map - my company has huge territory of occupation - about 1000km*300km... There are a lot of equipment as well. It is difficult to concentrate on "virtual" networking equipment. I would like to see the map of the region and "blinking" cities.
Such a shy dream
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flashback



Joined: 27 Oct 2002
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2004 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All I know is my boss has tasked me with finding out how to do it with hostmonitor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Stoltze



Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my company, we have just finished an application llike this.. It reads data from a textfile, and then presents this on top of what map you would like, and in sublevels as well.

The textfile is not created by AHM, but I will suggest my boss, to make it possible to create the map from a AHM textfile..

I hope this will be done, since this is last thing I'm missing with AHM..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ProZa



Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Perm, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would you be so kind to make happy some other people and to share
your software?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmcsh1
Guest





PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2004 9:57 am    Post subject: I would like to second this as a request Reply with quote

I would like to see this added as well. It is functionality which many competing products have. Please consider moving it up on your priority list.

Scott Hardin
Enterprise Registered User
Back to top
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11888
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2004 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I have increased priority of this task. But it is task for version 5 anyway.
IMHO its hard task. Of course its not very hard to implement some interactive map but... If you are monitoring thousand devices and want to see all of them on this map, there are a lot of problems.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stoltze



Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2004 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
KS-Soft wrote:
Ok, I have increased priority of this task. But it is task for version 5 anyway.
Sounds really great Alex..

Quote:
IMHO its hard task. Of course its not very hard to implement some interactive map
Yes, this is one of the most difficult tasks to do.. And where it's most difficult to satisfy everyone....

Quote:
but... If you are monitoring thousand devices and want to see all of them on this map, there are a lot of problems.
Regards
Alex
Alex, I really don't hope, that anyone would consider to hundreds or thousands icons on the map. If I was watching a company across the world, I would split them up. Eg a top map, which shows regions, ASIA, EMEA, USA etc.., or I would show each country. If something goes wrong in the country, you click on the country and go down one level to a new map.

When you think about this feature, please keep wish about Virtual Folders in mind... I think the two of them goes nicely together..
http://www.ks-soft.net/cgi-bin/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=1208
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasschmeidl



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 166
Location: Germany, Bavaria

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Alex

Quote:
Ok, I have increased priority of this task. But it is task for version 5 anyway.

Is the task still in your ToDo-list?

Or can you recommend another way to get a map - like Stoltze's application?
Quote:
In my company, we have just finished an application llike this.. It reads data from a textfile, and then presents this on top of what map you would like, and in sublevels as well.


The more sophisticated AHM gets the more administrators could benefit from such a feature.

Regards

Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dubolomov



Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 214
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

+1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11888
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Is the task still in your ToDo-list

Yes.
At first we want to implement other tasks: agent that will be able connect to HostMonitor, improved Log Analyzer and Web Service, Templates.
Then we will think about "map".

Quote:
Or can you recommend another way to get a map - like Stoltze's application

What is "Stoltze's application"?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Wish list All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index