KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Busy CPU Test - One possibility/example

View previous topic :: View next topic  
timn

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 7:40 am    Post subject: Busy CPU Test - One possibility/example Reply with quote

I'm just beginning to play with alert profiles and have been impressed with how flexible AHM is. I wanted to share a recent success involving testing for extremely busy CPU utilization.

Many of you have already gone far beyond this -- you should skip the remainder of this message if you long ago passed AHM 101.

Here's the scenario:

1. Normally, I want to test a host's CPU utilization rate about once per minute.
  2. It is common on some of our hosts for CPU utilization to go to 100% for breif periods (typically 10 seconds or less). So I don't want to be alerted when this happens. i.e. I don't want to panic the 1st time I see 100% utilization.
  3. But if I see 100% utilization for 2 times in a row, I'd like to focus in on that test and run it more frequently, say once every 5 seconds until utilization stabilizes at something under 100%
  4. If the CPU stay at 100% for more than a minute (12 checks at 5 second intervals), I'd like to get an email notification
  5. I only want to go back to my original test interval if I get 4 'good' test results in a row -- indicating CPU utilization has dropped below 100% and maintained that value for 20 seconds.

This is surprisingly easy to achieve in AHM by building an Alert Profile.

First, create a CPU utilization test that runs once per minute and considers reply values greater than 99 to be bad.

Next, in the Test Properties dialog, under Alerts, click on Configure.

In the Action Profiles dialog, click on New and name your profile anything you want (I used "Busy CPU Watch")

Next, we are going to add 2 "Bad" status actions and 1 "Good" status action.