KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Wrong free disk space on some partitions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> RMA for UNIX
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jcasares



Joined: 16 Sep 2008
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2023 2:40 pm    Post subject: Wrong free disk space on some partitions Reply with quote

I'm having a weird issue. A CentOS Linux partition that is being checked by HostMonitor RMA 1.29 does not return the proper free space. This was identified because we're using another solution now (SCOM) and it alerted us when HostMonitor not.





Does someone know why this could happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12781
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2023 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RMA 1.29 is 9 years old. Please update agent (unless you are using some very old HostMonitor as well).
For Linux there are Passive RMA v1.36 and Active RMA v5.20

Are you using UNC test method?
Active RMA v5.20 offers Drive Free Space test as well.

Note: there are "free space for caller" and "total free space" options. Results may be different.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jcasares



Joined: 16 Sep 2008
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2023 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is we're talking about CentOS 6.10 that seems not to support version 1.36 of RMA.

It gives the following error when trying to start the process:
./rma: /lib64/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.15' not found (required by ./rma)
./rma: /lib64/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.14' not found (required by ./rma)


I do not want to change this legacy system as it has a critical app. I know, EOL OS, EOL libraries, but that's life.

Do you have an intermediate version that I can try in that OS? In any case, why the difference when the other two file systems report free space properly and this one (/db) not?

It is a passive agent and using UNC method.

I did create a script for BASH that provides the check without this issue in the meantime.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
if [ $# -ge 2 ]
then
  filesystem=$1
  alarmthreshold=$2
  freespace=$(df -BG $filesystem | awk 'NR==2{gsub("G", ""); print $4}')
  if [ $freespace -ge $alarmthreshold ]
  then
    echo "ScriptRes:Ok:$freespace"
  else
    echo "ScriptRes:Bad:$freespace"
  fi
else
  echo 'ScriptRes:Unknown:not enough parameters specified'
fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12781
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2023 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UNC test offers 2 options, there are "free space for caller" and "total free space" options. Results may be different.
I assume you are using "total free space", try to set "free space for caller".

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12781
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2023 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Do you have an intermediate version that I can try in that OS?

There are various old unsupported versions in archives. Please contact support by e-mail

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jcasares



Joined: 16 Sep 2008
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2023 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I now moved the option to free space for caller, and it returns the proper disk free space.

The platform should be replaced later this year, so I don't want to change much. If this option works, that is OK for me.

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12781
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2023 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think both modes work correctly. Linux provides 2 different counters
- number of free blocks
- number of free blocks for unprivileged users

DF command shows you 2nd counter.
RMA may get any of them, its up to you.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> RMA for UNIX All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index