KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Testing RMA Agents

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jcasares



Joined: 16 Sep 2008
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2022 11:23 am    Post subject: Testing RMA Agents Reply with quote

We normally tested RMA Agent with a simple TCP test on the RMA port, but yesterday we had an issue where the port replied, but the agent was not working because of an Antivirus deployed on the device.

Is there a secure way to check an RMA Agent is working? Much like the HM Monitor test, but for agents.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12633
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2022 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/rma-win/index.htm

How to check status of the agent

When you use single agent to perform various tests, you may want to setup Master test to check agent status. In such case HostMonitor may send single alert informing you about disconnected agent and hold dependant test items (so you will receive single alert instead of hundred warnings for all tests performed by this agent).
What test can you use as Master test?

- Passive RMA: It's pretty easy to check Passive RMA status when you do not use Backup RMA. You may use TCP test to check is RMA receives connections on specified TCP port or use Ping test performed by the agent to check localhost (127.0.0.1). Such Ping test will always return "Host is alive" status when successfully authenticated connection to the agent can be established.
If there is backup agent in use, you may setup Ping test performed by Passive RMA using rma itself string as target host name. In such case HostMonitor will check agent status without using backup agent even if such backup agent was specified for selected RMA

- Active RMA: Things a little more tricky when you need to check Active RMA status. Yes, you may setup the same "Ping localhost" test to check agent status. However this may lead to some delay in reaction as HostMonitor will not perform test if agent was connected but lost connection just a moment ago. HostMonitor may wait up to several minutes for new connection before changing test status to "Unknown". Dependant test items will be delayed as well so such delay is not a big problem, you will not receive a lot of alerts. However if for some reason you need to receive alert immediately, there is solution: setup Ping test using Active RMA and type rma itself string instead of localhost or target host name. In such case HostMonitor will display agent status immediately. HostMonitor will not use backup agent (if any) when specified agent is not connected; also HostMonitor will not wait for agent re-connection.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jcasares



Joined: 16 Sep 2008
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2022 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you! Testing local ping seems a good one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcasares



Joined: 16 Sep 2008
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2022 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm afraid it's not working.

OS: Ubutu 18
RMA Agent: 1.36 for Linux
Agent mode: passive

The ping test to 127.0.0.1 or localhost returns with: "RMA: 500 - not implemented yet"

Ping is enabled in the ini file for the agent.

And remember that the TCP test was not conclusive as something in the server returned the connection (BitDefender) but not the RMA Agent so the other tests depending on this one gave error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12633
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2022 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, this version of the agent does not support ping test so you may use ANY other test method performed by agent, just make sure test always return the same status, e.g. use File/Folder Availability test and check / or /bin or /bin/sh or any other standard file.

Actually you may use Ping test as well. Just set the following option in Test Properties dialog:
[x] Use Normal status if ("not implemented yet" in "%SuggestedReply%")

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index