KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

WMI Explorer: Provider Load Failure

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
morphil



Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Location: Österreich

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2020 7:22 am    Post subject: WMI Explorer: Provider Load Failure Reply with quote

With this query
Code:
select from MSFT_NetConnectionProfile
on Root\StandardCimv2 I get the error: Provider Load Failure

the same error when I execute it as a shellscript.

But it works when I try it on powershell like this:
Code:
Get-WmiObject MSFT_NetConnectionProfile -Namespace root/StandardCimv2 | Select -ExpandProperty NetworkCategory

I specialy wanna know the Networkcategory. All tested on the same machine with adminstrativ rights.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12431
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2020 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think there is no 32bit provider for this class (necessary for HostMonitor).
You may try to perform test using 64bit version of RMA (Remote Monitoring Agent).
https://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/downpage.htm

RMA/x86 is 32-bit application, however it works correctly on Windows Server 2003 x64 Edition and new 64-bit Windows systems (Windows 7, Windows 10, Windows Server 2008 - Windows Server 2019) running on x86-64 (AMD64) systems (not on Itanuim/IA-64) This 32-bit version included into Advanced Host Monitor package.
However in some cases you may need 64-bit version of the agent. RMA/x64 can be downloaded as separate package; you may replace x86 version of Passive and/or Active RMA agents using rma.exe and rma_active.exe modules from rmawin64.zip archive.
Drawback: Active Script test does not work in 64-bit mode because Microsoft does not offer 64-bit version of msscript.ocs. You may use Shell Script test method instead.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
morphil



Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Location: Österreich

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2020 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the quick reply. I will try this, so far I didn't needed the rma agent before.

Will there ever be a 64bit Version of Hostmonitor?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12431
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Will there ever be a 64bit Version of Hostmonitor?

Sure, but not in 2020

Another solution - use Shell Script test method and 64-bit version of powershell.exe

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
morphil



Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Location: Österreich

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a bit funky with 32/64bit in powershell, but this works for me

Start cmd: powershell.exe %script% %params%

Code:
$statusAlive       = "ScriptRes:Host is alive:"
$statusDead        = "ScriptRes:No answer:"
$statusUnknown     = "ScriptRes:Unknown:"
$statusNotResolved = "ScriptRes:Unknown host:"
$statusOk          = "ScriptRes:Ok:"
$statusBad         = "ScriptRes:Bad:"
$statusBadContents = "ScriptRes:Bad contents:"

if (!$args[0]) {
  echo  $statusUnknown"Host parameter is not specified"
  exit
}

$ComputerName = $args[0]
echo $ComputerName

#############################################################################
#If Powershell is running the 32-bit version on a 64-bit machine, we need to force powershell to run in 64-bit mode .
#############################################################################
if ($env:PROCESSOR_ARCHITEW6432 -eq "AMD64") {
       if ($myInvocation.Line) {
           &"$env:WINDIR\sysnative\windowspowershell\v1.0\powershell.exe" -NonInteractive -NoProfile $myInvocation.Line
       }else{
           &"$env:WINDIR\sysnative\windowspowershell\v1.0\powershell.exe" -NonInteractive -NoProfile -file "$($myInvocation.InvocationName)" $args
       }
exit $lastexitcode
}

$result = Get-WmiObject -computer $ComputerName MSFT_NetConnectionProfile -Namespace root/StandardCimv2 | Select -ExpandProperty NetworkCategory


if ($result -match "2")
{
   echo $statusOk$result
}
else
{
   echo $statusBad$result
}



thanks very much for the perfect support.
regards, Phiilipp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12431
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2020 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are welcome

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index