KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Windows Service Tests

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kermit67



Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 4:37 am    Post subject: Windows Service Tests Reply with quote

Hi,

I use Hostmonitor v° 12.46 on a Windows 2016 server member of Active Directory domain "A".

All tests works well except "Services" tests for servers members of an other domain Active Directory "B" with error : Win32 error #5 Access Refused.

For these servers i use the "Connection Manager" to specify an user account member of administrators of domain "B".

But on these servers of domain "B" i can successfully test "CPU Usage" or "UNC availability/free space".

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12431
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

#5 Access Refused? May be "Access denied"?

Quote:
But on these servers of domain "B" i can successfully test "CPU Usage" or "UNC availability/free space".

Different test methods require different permissions.
- CPU Usage test requires "Performance Monitor" user
- UNC test require user account that has access to specific disk share.
- Service test needs user account with "Log on as a Service" privilege

If you need to check several LAN's, domains, usually we recommend to install Remote Monitoring Agent (RMA) on some server in that LAN and use RMA agent to monitor entire LAN
https://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/rma-win/index.htm

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kermit67



Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KS-Soft wrote:
#5 Access Refused? May be "Access denied"?

Yes, "Access denied"

Until now, for the same tests I used Hostmonitor v8.xx on a Windows 2008R2 server and it worked without agents...

Quote:
But on these servers of domain "B" i can successfully test "CPU Usage" or "UNC availability/free space".

Different test methods require different permissions.
- CPU Usage test requires "Performance Monitor" user
- UNC test require user account that has access to specific disk share.
- Service test needs user account with "Log on as a Service" privilege

If you need to check several LAN's, domains, usually we recommend to install Remote Monitoring Agent (RMA) on some server in that LAN and use RMA agent to monitor entire LAN
https://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/rma-win/index.htm

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12431
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Until now, for the same tests I used Hostmonitor v8.xx on a Windows 2008R2 server and it worked without agents...

I don't think this problem relates to HostMonitor update. HostMonitor just sends specified user account to Windows API, its up to the OS accept or deny access.
You may try to start new HostMonitor on old system and check what happens.
If there is trust relationships between domains, you may try to use account from domain A..

Have you checked what exactly permissions this user account owns?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kermit67



Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I will try to update Hostmonitor on old server.

There is no relationship between the two domains.

I use an account member of Domain Administrators from domain "B" who as the specific righ "open session as a service" on each servers of domain "B".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kermit67



Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, i upgraded the old Hosmonitor v8.86 server (W2003 R2 x64...) to Hostmonitor V12.46

All tests works ! "Services" tests for domain "B" servers works fine.

I used the Backup option from Hostmonitor v12.46 on old server and tried to restore it on the new server Windows 2016 (keeping the same IP adress for old and new Hostmonitor server).

Restore works but i always have the same error for "Services" test on domain "B" servers...

I tried to run on new server the compmgmt.msc console as my specific user for domain "B", then i choosed to connect to another computer from domain "B", the console opened but when i clicked on the Services pan i got this error : windows was unable to open service control manager database on...Erreur 5 : acces denied

The same test worked on old Hostmonitor server...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12431
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sometimes we cannot explain how exactly Windows works. Microsoft knows this for sure.
That's why we implemented RMA, it helps to avoid various Windows issues.

HostMonitor started as service? application?
Do you use the same account to run HostMonitor on old and new system?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kermit67



Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strange...I added a "Service" test on a third Hostmonitor server (W2016 too) in v12.40 in domain "C" and test works to domain "B".

I will upgrade to v12.46 to see what's happen on this third server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kermit67



Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KS-Soft wrote:
Sometimes we cannot explain how exactly Windows works. Microsoft knows this for sure.
That's why we implemented RMA, it helps to avoid various Windows issues.

HostMonitor started as service? application?

Run as service.

Do you use the same account to run HostMonitor on old and new system?

Yes, same account.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kermit67



Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i upgraded my third server to v° 10.46 and tests works fine...

So, something does not works correctly on the new server 2016.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12431
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are welcome

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index