KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

test execution time variable

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Wish list
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
datwood100



Joined: 03 Sep 2015
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 11:13 am    Post subject: test execution time variable Reply with quote

It would be nice if there were a current test state variable like "%executionTime% that would indicate how long it took the test to run.

I've been asked to measure how long it takes to login to a Unix box. The only way I can find to do it is to write a VB or Active script that wraps a putty/plink login. this works, but it would be more robust if I could just use tune-up reply function to access the execution time of a SSH test and display that.

Anyway, just a thought. Obviously not something that most people want, or you probably would already have it.

Thanks,
DAtwood
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11890
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think we will implement this variable

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11890
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We added %TestProbeTime% variable (can be used as parameter of some actions, for Optional status processing, reports...)

If you are using latest version of the software (10.30), you may download update at
www.ks-soft.net/download/hm1031.zip

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
datwood100



Joined: 03 Sep 2015
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is incredible! I get better support from you than from my own company !!

I tried it out, and it seems to be working just expected. Can't verify that it works in every situation, but on the SSH test TuneUpReply function , it looks very good.

BTW, you didn't mention if the new variable was in milliseconds or what. But it appears to be milliseconds, so it's easy to convert to seconds, which is what I needed here.

Thanks,
DAtwood
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11890
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are right, time in milliseconds

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Wish list All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index