KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Install Hostmonitor RMA on Ubuntu 12.04

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> RMA for UNIX
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
qwerty



Joined: 12 Sep 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2013 9:23 am    Post subject: Install Hostmonitor RMA on Ubuntu 12.04 Reply with quote

Get RMA files
Code:

#
mkdir -p /usr/local/src/rma
cd /usr/local/src/rma
#
wget http://www.hostmonitor.biz/download/rma/rma129_lin_x64.tgz
#
tar -xzf rma129_lin_x64.tgz
#


Copy RMA files to appropriate location
Code:

#
mkdir /usr/local/etc/rma
mkdir /usr/local/etc/rma/docs
#
#
cp rma /usr/bin
#
cp rma.ini /usr/local/etc/rma
#
cp cpu.sh /usr/local/etc/rma
cp proccnt.sh /usr/local/etc/rma
cp proclist.sh /usr/local/etc/rma
#
cp INSTALL /usr/local/etc/rma/docs
cp LICENSE /usr/local/etc/rma/docs
cp README /usr/local/etc/rma/docs
#


Edit Agent ini file
Code:

sudo vi /usr/local/etc/rma/rma.ini

Code:

RmaPath = /usr/bin/rma
Password=*******
CPUUsageScript=/usr/local/etc/rma/cpu.sh
ProcCntScript=/usr/local/etc/rma/proccnt.sh
ProcListScript=/usr/local/etc/rma/proclist.sh


Create startup script
Code:

sudo touch /etc/init.d/rma


Edit startup script
Code:

sudo vi /etc/init.d/rma

Code:

#! /bin/sh
### BEGIN INIT INFO
# Provides:          Host Monitor RMA
# Required-Start:    $local_fs $syslog
# Required-Stop:     $local_fs $syslog
# Default-Start:     2 3 4 5
# Default-Stop:      0 1 6
# Short-Description: Host Monitor RMA
### END INIT INFO

# Author: ***** <*****@****.***>

PATH=/sbin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin
DESCRIPTION="Host Monitor RMA"
NAME=rma
RMA_INI_FILE=/usr/local/etc/rma/rma.ini
DAEMON=/usr/bin/$NAME
DAEMON_ARGS="-d $RMA_INI_FILE"
PIDFILE=$PIDNAME.pid
PIDSPATH=/var/run
PIDFILE=$NAME.pid
SCRIPTNAME=/etc/init.d/$NAME

RUNAS=root                              #user to run as

SCRIPT_OK=0                             #ala error codes
SCRIPT_ERROR=1                          #ala error codes
TRUE=1                                  #boolean
FALSE=0                                 #boolean

#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#                               Simple Tests
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------

# Test if rma is a file and executable
[ -x "$DAEMON" ] || exit 0
# Include rma defaults if available
[ -r /etc/default/$NAME ] && . /etc/default/$NAME

. /lib/init/vars.sh

. /lib/lsb/init-functions

#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#                               Functions
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------

setFilePerms(){

        if [ -f $PIDSPATH/$PIDFILE ]; then
                chmod 400 $PIDSPATH/$PIDFILE
        fi
}

isRunning() {
        if [ $1 ]; then
                pidof_daemon $1
                PID=$?

                if [ $PID -gt 0 ]; then
                        return 1
                else
                        return 0
                fi
        else
                pidof_daemon
                PID=$?

                if [ $PID -gt 0 ]; then
                        return 1
                else
                        return 0
                fi
        fi
}

wait_for_pid () {
        try=0

        while test $try -lt 35 ; do

                case "$1" in
                        'created')
                        if [ -f "$2" ] ; then
                                try=''
                                break
                        fi
                        ;;

                        'removed')
                        if [ ! -f "$2" ] ; then
                                try=''
                                break
                        fi
                        ;;
                esac

                echo -n .
                try=`expr $try + 1`
                sleep 1
        done
}

status(){
        isRunning
        isAlive=$?

        if [ "${isAlive}" -eq $TRUE ]; then
                echo "$DESCRIPTION found running with processes:  `pidof $NAME`"
        else
                echo "$DESCRIPTION is NOT running."
        fi
}

removePIDFile(){
        if [ $1 ]; then
                if [ -f $1 ]; then
                        rm -f $1
                fi
        else
                #Do default removal
                if [ -f $PIDSPATH/$PIDFILE ]; then
                        rm -f $PIDSPATH/$PIDFILE
                fi
        fi
}


start() {
        log_daemon_msg "Starting $DESCRIPTION"

        isRunning
        isAlive=$?

        if [ "${isAlive}" -eq $TRUE ]; then
                log_end_msg $SCRIPT_ERROR
        else
                start-stop-daemon --start --verbose --pidfile $PIDSPATH/$PIDFILE --exec $DAEMON -- $DAEMON_ARGS
                                pidof $NAME >$PIDSPATH/$PIDFILE
                                setFilePerms
                log_end_msg $SCRIPT_OK
        fi
}

stop() {
        log_daemon_msg "Stopping $DESCRIPTION"

        isRunning
        isAlive=$?
        if [ "${isAlive}" -eq $TRUE ]; then
                start-stop-daemon --stop --quiet --pidfile $PIDSPATH/$PIDFILE

#               wait_for_pid 'removed' $PIDSPATH/$PIDFILE

#                if [ -n "$try" ] ; then
#                        log_end_msg $SCRIPT_ERROR
#                else
                        removePIDFile
                        log_end_msg $SCRIPT_OK
#                fi

        else
                log_end_msg $SCRIPT_ERROR
        fi
}

reload() {

        log_daemon_msg "Reloading (via HUP) $DESCRIPTION"

        isRunning
        if [ $? -eq $TRUE ]; then
                kill -HUP `cat $PIDSPATH/$PIDFILE`
                log_end_msg $SCRIPT_OK
        else
                log_end_msg $SCRIPT_ERROR
        fi
}

destroy() {
        log_daemon_msg "Force terminating and may include self (via KILLALL) $DESCRIPTION"
        killall $NAME -q >> /dev/null 2>&1
        log_end_msg $SCRIPT_OK
}

pidof_daemon() {
    PIDS=`pidof $NAME`

    [ -e $PIDSPATH/$PIDFILE ] && PIDS2=`cat $PIDSPATH/$PIDFILE`

    for i in $PIDS; do
        if [ "$i" = "$PIDS2" ]; then
            return 1
        fi
    done
    return 0
}

case "$1" in
  start)
        start
        ;;
  stop)
        stop
        ;;
  restart)
        stop
        sleep 1
        start
        ;;
  reload)
        $1
        ;;
  status)
        status
        ;;
  destroy)
        $1
        ;;
  *)
        echo "Usage: service $NAME {start|stop|restart|reload|destroy}"
        echo "       The 'destroy' command should only be used as a last resort."
        exit 1
        ;;
esac

exit 0


Make the script executable
Code:

sudo chmod +x /etc/init.d/rma


Add the script to the boot sequence
Code:

sudo update-rc.d rma defaults


Start installed agent
Code:

sudo service rma start
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gulbahar



Joined: 24 Apr 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:27 am    Post subject: Exec error Reply with quote

Hi.

I said the same applies but I am getting error.

Error :

*Starting Host Monitor RMA
Starting /usr/bin/rma...
Start-stop-deamon: unable to start /usr/bin/rma (exec format error)


Please help me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried to start RMA agent manually?
Coud you try to download and extract RMA files manually.

Please check for details at:
http://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/rma-unix/index.htm#start
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
gulbahar



Joined: 24 Apr 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:07 am    Post subject: RMA start error Reply with quote

Hi,

I already use manually but agent give me same error.
I already insttall and extract RMA files manually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What command line have you used to start RMA?
What exactly error message have you got?
If you are using 32-bit OS, could you try 32-bit RMA:
http://www.hostmonitor.biz/download/rma/rma129_lin_x86.tgz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This error can be caused by incompatible CPU architecture.
What CPU is installed on your system?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
eddymicro



Joined: 13 Nov 2002
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 2:25 pm    Post subject: Password Error Reply with quote

Alex

I have been trying to install the agent, I followed these directions and I get a password error, I did create a new password and put it in the rma.ini file

-------------------------------------------------------------
Application: RMA (Remote Monitoring Agent for HostMonitor)
Version: 1.29 for Linux (Red Hat, Mandrake, SuSE)
Copyright: 2004 - 2010 Alexander Kozlov
web: http://www.ks-soft.net
e-mail: support@ks-soft.net
-------------------------------------------------------------
Command line checking .. Ok
Settings checking .. Error
Password is not specified!
Full path to the agent is not specified!

Please check '/usr/local/etc/rma/rma.ini' file

kiosk@nuc-01-0001 ~ $
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eddymicro



Joined: 13 Nov 2002
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 3:00 pm    Post subject: Password Error is fixed Reply with quote

Alex,

I figured it out and the agent is running. But I cannot get most of the tests to work. I get an error on the CPU test: Error 301 cannot get script results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eddymicro



Joined: 13 Nov 2002
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 3:05 pm    Post subject: Errors for Process Test Reply with quote

Alex,

Both errors are probably related. On the process test I get this error:RMA 301 ProcCnt script doesn't exist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft Europe



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 2832

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rma folder should contain the following .sh files:
proccnt.sh
proclist.sh
cpu.sh
All these files should have executive permission.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
eddymicro



Joined: 13 Nov 2002
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2014 5:40 am    Post subject: Execute Permissions Reply with quote

Alex,

I added execute and restarted the RMA.Now I get the follwwing error: RMA 301: Cannot get script results
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eddymicro



Joined: 13 Nov 2002
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2014 6:00 am    Post subject: Now Working Reply with quote

Alex,

When I started the RMA as a service, It works.
We could really use more features for Linux !
Are you considering adding more tests to the Linux RMA?

We use Ubuntu and Mint (this version appears to work on both Mint and Ubuntu)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12791
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2014 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What exactly fuatures do you need?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> RMA for UNIX All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index