KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Problem running RMA under Fedora Core 4

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> RMA for UNIX
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jivetolkein



Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 4:13 am    Post subject: Problem running RMA under Fedora Core 4 Reply with quote

Bit odd this, never had any bother with the RMA agent before.. but 1.28 won't run just gives:

Floating Point Exception

Server lists this for uname -a

Linux server01 2.6.11-1.1369_FC4smp #1 SMP Thu Jun 2 23:08:39 EDT 2005 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

It's on a remote site and hI've inherited little info ion it.. so adding build tools to compile locally might be a bit tricky.

We use ssh to run most tests, but are tryig to get on RMA in each country, with a central backup, so it'd be nice to get working if you've any ideas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you try this one http://www.ks-soft.net/download/rma/rma128_sles9_x86.tgz

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jivetolkein



Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, this gives

error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

.. whic I also had on a couple of other earlier agents I tried.

I guess I could link libstdc++.so.5 to /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6.0.4 (the only one available).. is this safe enough to do? Not very well up on libraries
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I guess I could link libstdc++.so.5 to /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6.0.4 (the only one available).. is this safe enough to do?

Yes, should work fine.
Another solution: recompile RMA on your system. Could you provide telnet or ssh access to the system?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jivetolkein



Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

'Fraid not, they're a bit twitchy about that sort of thing.. plus there are no build tools on the remote system - it'd be easier for me to knock up a FC4 VM and build it there rather than fiddle with a production system.

I'll give the link a try first thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We installed FC4 and compiled RMA for you
www.ks-soft.net/download/rma/rma128_fedora4_x86.tgz

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jivetolkein



Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 2:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thnaks guys, you did that quicker than me getting around to logging on and typing ln -s ....

Installed and working, many thanks for your help. I was having issues finding an FC4 iso!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oakyuz



Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Alex

I have encountered the same issue in three Redhat Enterprise 4.x machines. On two of them, which are Redhat Ent. 4.5 AS and 4.4 ES, RMA 1.25 is currently running. When I tried version 1.28 on these machines, the "Floating point exception" error appeared.

I also tried version 1.28 in another test machine with the OS Redhat Ent. 4.5 AS and "not running any RMA", the same error appeared.

Finally, I tried on a test machine running Redhat 5.2, it worked fine.

So; might it be a general problem with Redhat 4.x ??

By the way, the RMA you compiled for FC4 works in my Redhat Ent. 4.5 AS.

Regards,
Oguzhan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
By the way, the RMA you compiled for FC4 works in my Redhat Ent. 4.5 AS.

So I assume it works fine on other systems. Am I wrong?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
oakyuz



Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are right.

The "rma" binary you compiled for FC4 is working for Redhat Enterprise 4.x. I started using it.

Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rasc



Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KS-Soft wrote:
We installed FC4 and compiled RMA for you
www.ks-soft.net/download/rma/rma128_fedora4_x86.tgz

Could you please do the same for 1.29, please?
Neither "RMA 1.29 for Linux" nor "RMA 1.29 for Fedora 13" from download page do work on a firewall (actual ipfire Core64 [this is not 64 bit, just version 64]), rma128_fedora4_x86.tgz does.

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is
www.ks-soft.net/download/rma/rma129_fedora4_x86.tgz

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rasc



Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WOW!
That's pretty fast!

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rasc



Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe the download section was a good place for this version, too?
Though this post is easily to find using Google (rma "Floating Point Exception") it made things easier for customers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, we can make it "official" after additional testing

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> RMA for UNIX All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index