KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

WMI Check for stopped services has stopped working

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
meppyman



Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 118
Location: Melbourne

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:19 pm    Post subject: WMI Check for stopped services has stopped working Reply with quote

I have been monitoring services on remote systems using WMI to check if any atuostart services have stopped. I have just noticed that these tests have stopped working at some point (but were set to be OK if unavailable for some reason).

I use the following line:

SELECT Name FROM Win32_Service WHERE (Started=0) AND (StartMode='Auto') AND (NAME<>'SysmonLog')

And check if the row count is greater than 0. This has worked perfectly for over a year, not sure why it's not working now?

Any ideas? These are all remote active agents and all other non WMI tests seem ok.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12100
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you please explain what exactly means "stopped working"? What is test status? Reply field of the test?
Do you mean test performed by Active RMA? What version? Windows version? Service pack?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
meppyman



Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 118
Location: Melbourne

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Status is unknown, nothing gets returned. Previously you would get a number of stopped services.

HostMonitor is running on Windows SBS 2008 R2 up to date.

Agents are running on SBS 2003 mostly and are all latest SP about a month behind latest MS patches.

HM 8.68
Agents: 4.08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12100
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing in Reply field? If there is some WMI related error, HostMonitor displays error description in this field.
Have you tried WMI Explorer to execute this query (on the same system where RMA is running)?

Also, are you sure test does not work?
If there are no such stopped services, HostMonitor will set status specified for "if instance not available set ..." option and set empty Reply. So if you selected "Unknown" status for this option, Unknown status and empty reply means everything works just fine.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index