KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Problem with Remote Controll Console for Host Monitor
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nasdo AG



Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 8:57 am    Post subject: Problem with Remote Controll Console for Host Monitor Reply with quote

I want to controll Host Monitor from a local PC with RCC...

only if im connectet with the hostmonitor server with remotedesktop, and the hostmonitor app is startet,
the rcc works....

as soon as i check out from server (hostmonitor is working as well as service) the rcc loose the connection....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12063
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, if you start HostMonitor as service (verify that service status is "running") start RCC on the same system, type "localhost" or "127.0.0.1" in "Host" field and click "Connect" button, RCC will show some error? What exactly error message it displays?
What Windows do you use? Service Pack? HostMonitor version? RCC version?
Do you see any errors in system log file (specified on System Log page in the Options dialog)?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nasdo AG



Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, rcc on same system starts problemless...
rcc on far system is running to, but only when Im logged into the server (there is hostmonitor lokated) and the hostmonitor app is startet....

when Im logged out of the server(there is hostmonitor as service too) the connection from rcc too host is lost,

Hostmonitor 8.14 - Windows Server 2003 R2 Service Pack 2
RCC 3.0.8.146 - Windows 7 Ultimate


[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nasdo AG



Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the error report...


[17.09.2009 09:22:23] Reconnecting...
[17.09.2009 09:22:23] Connecting... Failed. Connection error
[17.09.2009 09:22:24] Connection error

[17.09.2009 09:22:28] Disconnecting... not connected

[17.09.2009 09:22:29] Connecting... Failed. Connection error

[17.09.2009 10:07:50] Connecting... Failed. Connection error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12063
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
rcc on far system is running to, but only when Im logged into the server (there is hostmonitor lokated) and the hostmonitor app is startet....

H'm.. may be you are using some VPN channel that is active only when you login to the system so RCC cannot establish connection? Can you logoff from the system A (HostMonitor system) and then ping system where HostMonitor is running from system where RCC is running (system B -> system A)? Can you set telnet connection to the RCI port?

Or may be HostMonitor service could not open port for listening for some reason and you start another HostMonitor instance (application) everytime you login in to the system?
Do you see any errors in system log file (specified on System Log page in the Options dialog)?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nasdo AG



Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[18.09.2009 09:48:31] Connecting... Ok. TCP Connection established
[18.09.2009 09:48:31] Authentication... Failed. HostMonitor response: Authorization failed. Unacceptable IP address
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12063
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This means connection was received from IP address that is not in "allowed" list. Use menu User -> Operators to add necessary addresses into "white" list.
http://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/mframe.htm#rci.htm#operators

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nasdo AG



Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

we had done this, Its the same, it doesnt work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yoorix



Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just specify 0.0.0.0 into "Allow remote connection from" area for the user, you are trying to log in. http://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/mframe.htm#rci.htm#operators
In this case HostMonitor will accept inbound connections from any address.

Regards,
Yoorix
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nasdo AG



Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes we had done this (0.0.0.0) before i had written you...

it isnt the mistake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12063
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you please answer my questions?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nasdo AG



Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whats your question please,

I had given the rights...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12063
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Questions are the same
===============
H'm.. may be you are using some VPN channel that is active only when you login to the system so RCC cannot establish connection? Can you logoff from the system A (HostMonitor system) and then ping system where HostMonitor is running from system where RCC is running (system B -> system A)? Can you set telnet connection to the RCI port?

Or may be HostMonitor service could not open port for listening for some reason and you start another HostMonitor instance (application) everytime you login in to the system?
Do you see any errors in system log file (specified on System Log page in the Options dialog)?
===============
Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nasdo AG



Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

so,

im not using a vpn channel, i can ping system a from system b, i cant use telnet (error cannot start service)

in system log file arent any errors... its all ok,

and the ports for the services are all given, and run well
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12063
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
im not using a vpn channel, i can ping system a from system b, i cant use telnet (error cannot start service)

As far as I know Windows telnet client does not depend on any service..
Also you may use Telnet client provided by our software IP-Tools http://www.ks-soft.net/ip-tools.eng/index.htm

Quote:
in system log file arent any errors... its all ok,

No errors and no messages like "RCI connection established"?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index