KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Description on CommentLines
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Wish list
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Stoltze



Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:22 am    Post subject: Description on CommentLines Reply with quote

Hi,

I use commentlines for various things.. But sometimes it's hard to remember which line is for what.. (Maybe it's just me getting old.. )

If I could have a central view of the commentlines, where I could add a description, then I would have an overview of them..

And then when choosing commentlines at test level, I would have an extra column, that shows the decription of the line..

Don't know if this is relevant for anyone else, but since I always use the numbers for the same thing, it would be very nice...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sergei_og



Joined: 18 Jun 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 3:11 am    Post subject: Good idea Reply with quote

I use 7-8 comment lines for variuos variable.
it seems to me good
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12178
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One central place for comment line names? H'm I think different test items in different folders may use different "comment logic"?
May be we can implement this as "undocumented" option, just for you...

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stoltze



Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alex;

Even though I would like to have this feature, I don't like undocumented special features...

I use the same commentline for the same "logic" in all folders, but you're so right that others might not do the same..

Perhaps you could add a checkbox in the options?
"Use the same commentline description for all tests"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12178
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Undocumented option can be implemented sooner...

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stoltze



Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smiling... That's correct...

Well.. It's your call.. If you will implement this as undocumented feature, I would appriciate it.. Very much..

You have my email...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greyhat64



Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 246
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe I'm not seeing the problem, but I think a simple workaround for all of this is to use odd commentlines for descriptions and even ones for the purpose described.
%CommentLine1% | md5 value used to verify file integrity
%CommentLine2% | da1e170dc9c7beab810925e37874dc31

There's nothing 'undocumented' about that
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Stoltze



Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

greyhat64 wrote:
Maybe I'm not seeing the problem, but I think a simple workaround for all of this is to use odd commentlines for descriptions and even ones for the purpose described.
Could you please explain this more in depth...?

I need help to remember, which CommentLine is for what... So when filling out commentlines from the test, I need to remember if CL15 is Location or Country for example...

Do you have a solution for that..?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greyhat64



Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 246
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let's say you have the following:
XXXXX%CommentLine1% | United States
XXXXX%CommentLine2% | SouthEast
XXXXX%CommentLine3% | Atlanta
XXXXX%CommentLine4% | Georgia

Modify as follows:
XXXXX%CommentLine1% | Country
XXXXX%CommentLine2% | United States
XXXXX%CommentLine3% | Region
XXXXX%CommentLine4% | SouthEast
XXXXX%CommentLine5% | State/Provence
XXXXX%CommentLine6% | Georgia
XXXXX%CommentLine7% | City
XXXXX%CommentLine8% | Georgia

This idea is admittedly half baked, but these %CommentLine#% pairs give you the information you need. Of course you didn't mention needing to use the description in a formula, but you could, (pseudocode)
Code:
'The variable [%CommentLine1%] is equal to [%CommentLine2%]
Programatically, a method of incrementing the %CommentLine#% value (ie %CommentLine(%IntegerValue%)% = %CommentLine(%IntegerValue%+1)% would be nice.

I don't really have a use for this myself, so if someone else can improve upon this idea, please help bale me out of this one!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Stoltze



Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, but this doesn't work for my needs..

It's not because I have som similar data, so I could just choose from a range..

The problem is to remember, whether I need to fill out devicename in line 4, 5, or 6... And whether to wite the emailaddress/global variable to sent alarms to, in line 2, 3, 4 or 5..

If I had a description in the same row as the commentline, it would look something like this when filling out in the test:

Code:

Macro variable  |   Description   |   Text
%CommentLine1%  |   IP-address    |   10.10.10.10
%CommentLine2%  |   Hostname      |   MyRouter
%CommentLine3%  |   EmailAlert    |   name@alerts.com
etc etc


Does this makes sence...?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greyhat64



Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 246
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree that having a description in the same line, a sort of three dimensional associative array (key, value, description) would be ideal. I was simply trying to work within the confines of what is there and split the description and value across the existing two dimensional array.
Ideal - NO. A workable solution - maybe, with a little effort.
I still contend that you could look for, as in your example, Hostname. If found in %CommentLine3% you know the value for that description is in CommentLine4%. This, of course, might involve a certain level of scripting to get to where you need to be.

Good luck working this out. Hopefully this upcoming 'undocumented feature' will become a common feature - v8.5 or v9 maybe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12178
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Done. Implemented in version 7.94 Beta

BTW We uploaded version 7.90 for testing and have not received single report. I assume nobody using beta versions even for testing so there is no sense to upload version 7.94 Beta?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stoltze



Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

greyhat64 wrote:
I still contend that you could look for, as in your example, Hostname. If found in %CommentLine3% you know the value for that description is in CommentLine4%. This, of course, might involve a certain level of scripting to get to where you need to be.

My mistake.. I didn't get your design.. Now I see what you mean...

But I would say, that with this solution, you would need to have all these descriptions in all tests, and if you make a change, you need to do it all across the configuration..

But as allways, Alex is veeeery fast a solution...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stoltze



Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KS-Soft wrote:
Done. Implemented in version 7.94 Beta
Damn you're fast Alex..!!

KS-Soft wrote:
BTW We uploaded version 7.90 for testing and have not received single report. I assume nobody using beta versions even for testing so there is no sense to upload version 7.94 Beta?
I must be honest and say, that I only use beta versions if it fix some special bug for me.. I simply don't have the time..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 12178
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then you should wait for release of version 8 (I hope April 2009). We do not plan to make any releases before version 8.00 because we made a lot of changes and need time for testings...

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Wish list All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index