KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Hyper-V Host Status: Error: Invalid Class
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xcentric



Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 11:14 am    Post subject: Hyper-V Host Status: Error: Invalid Class Reply with quote

Just setup a new host status test for a Hyper-V 2012 R2 server (GUI).
RMA was updated to 4.80.
Comes back with invalid class.

Side note. Have you guys thought about putting in a status for replication health per vm?

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most likelly its not a bug, problem with your system.
Try "lodctr /r" command

Quote:
Have you guys thought about putting in a status for replication health per vm

Not yet.
Please post this into "wish list" forum, may be other admins need this as well

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xcentric



Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Command is successful but no change.

What you are suggesting is that I have four broken hyper-v hosts. Hosts were newly created. Only role installed is hyper-v and all MS updates.

If its not a bug and my systems are not broken, there is a prerequisite that is unidentified somewhere. If all my hosts are broken then ms broke it.

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you see the following WMI classes on this system?
- MSVM_ComputerSystem
- MSVM_Processor
- Win32_PerfFormattedData_HvStats_HyperVHypervisorLogicalProcessor
You may use WMI Explorer to check this.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xcentric



Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes.

- MSVM_ComputerSystem
- MSVM_Processor

Reside in the root\virtualization\v2 namespace.

Win32_PerfFormattedData_HvStats_HyperVHypervisorLogicalProcessor resides in the root\cimv2 namespace.

Each class has it's appropriate instances available for query.

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Reside in the root\virtualization\v2 namespace

by default root\virtualization\v2 is not accessible remotely, that's why HostMonitor uses root\virtualization namespace.
Could you please check MSVM_ComputerSystem in root\virtualization namespace starting WMI Explorer on the same system where HostMonitor is running using the same user account for connection?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xcentric



Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now we are getting somewhere.

Logged into the hyper-v host as Administrator.
Machine is not part of Active Directory.
Not trying to perform test from remote agent. Active agent is local to machine for vm host status test.

Classes are not available through wmi explorer under root\virtualization in the hyper-v host.

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xcentric



Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found this digging around.

"Note: Hyper-V 2012 R2 (scheduled for this year, preview available for download now) drops support for the V1 namespace".

Relevant?

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xcentric



Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Confirmation. v1 deprecated for 2012 R2.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dn303411.aspx

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you try this update?
www.ks-soft.net/download/rma481.zip

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xcentric



Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good now.

reply is blank for:
Guest status: no reply
Host Status: no reply

Is this expected behavior?

Got reply from:
Guests CPU Usage: shows % cpu and host

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
reply is blank for:
Guest status: no reply
Host Status: no reply

There is no such status in HostMonitor. May be test status "No answer"?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xcentric



Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something to note:
Quote:
Got reply from:
Guests CPU Usage: shows % cpu and host


This is displaying the host hostname and not the guest vm name for the highest cpu usage. Also, this appears to be replying with the host cpu usage.

Your documentation says:
VM guests CPU usage - checks all guests, finds system with highest CPU usage.

Am I misunderstanding this somehow?

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lets fix problem with guest/host status first.
What exactly test status and reply do you see?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xcentric



Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure no problem.

Guest/host status is "Ok" and a blank reply. If this is intended behavior then lets move on.

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index