KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

SNMP, OID/MIB, Trap, Push/Pull, Agent
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Configuration, Maintenance, Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jtaugher

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 3:46 pm    Post subject: SNMP, OID/MIB, Trap, Push/Pull, Agent Reply with quote

I'm kinda new to SNMP. I'm trying to learn what AHM can or cannot do in regards to SNMP.

With RMA's loaded at customer sites, can we have say Veritas send SNMP traps to the server which RMA.exe (service) is running?

Or can it only request and read the OIDs, such as a Cisco router and check outbound utilization, have it check in Novell how many current connections there are since these elements are listed in an OID?
KS-Soft

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, RMA cannot receive SNMP Traps. I hope we implement such option in future versions.
Yes, RMA can request and read the OIDs.

Regards
Alex
jtaugher

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KS-Soft wrote:
No, RMA cannot receive SNMP Traps. I hope we implement such option in future versions.
Yes, RMA can request and read the OIDs.

Is there anything that can be done short of this? An external product?

Such that when Veritas Backup Exec is done with a job, it can send an SNMP alert to <something>. To which that <something> can then be read by AHM?
jtaugher

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KS-Soft wrote:
No, RMA cannot receive SNMP Traps.