KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

port scanning probs

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> IP-Tools
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
johnchain



Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 10:09 pm    Post subject: port scanning probs Reply with quote

Hi, I can't go into anyone's computer because I can never connect to an open port. When I ping the computer it gives me replies, but it never finds open ports. I am behind a router, that might be the problem. If this doesn't work, is there any way I can mess with someone's comp (not to do any harm) just by knowing their IP. Tell me if I'm not allowed to say this kind of stuff in this forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
When I ping the computer it gives me replies, but it never finds open ports. I am behind a router, that might be the problem


What exactly ports you are scanning for (21, 25, 23, 80, 110....)?
Try to scan any web server for port #80 (e.g. www.yahoo.com). If you receive answer, it means your system and IP-Tools works fine.

Then 2 versions
1) May be systems that you are scanning do not use ports that you want to find.
2) Probably some ports blocked by your firewall. Check router configuration or ask your network administrator.

Quote:
is there any way I can mess with someone's comp


I am so tired of this sort of question
No answer

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
johnchain



Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the last question, it was a joke (not really funny). I am scanning for another computer on all possible ports. I turn my software firewall off (zonealarm) and still no replies. I do port scan websites and it finds the open port 80, so the program works excellently. As for the router, I made my computer on a DMZ, so it would have all access to the internet, but it still didn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably systems that you are scanning just do not have open ports?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
johnchain



Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought about that and I figured all the new service packs took care of all the security, but I made it so the computer I am trying to contact is not behind a router and directly connected to the internet, no firewalls no nothing. (as unafe as possible). There should be open ports. But I do get an open port when I do a UDP scan! #53, but it says that is a DNS, and I don't think that will serve me any good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
There should be open ports.


Why there should be open ports?
Port is open for listening when some sort of server (www server, ftp server, mail server, etc) is running on the system.
No special services started - no opened ports.

For example scan fast.tomato.it
You should see several open ports
Port 22 (ssh)
Port 25 (smtp)
Port 53 (domain)
Port 80 (http-www)

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
johnchain



Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I just realized that. But what I am having trouble understanding the UDP scan. How come whenever it finds a port it always finds it on #53 (DNS), is that my UDP port?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11761
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DNS is most used UDP service. That's why scanner finds it.

Quote:
is that my UDP port


Depends what system you are checking. If you are scanning your own system...

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
johnchain



Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm pretty sure I'm not scanning my own system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> IP-Tools All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index