KS-Soft. Network Management Solutions
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister    ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Check Service fails with Win32 error #5

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MirkoW



Joined: 01 Jul 2008
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 4:33 am    Post subject: Check Service fails with Win32 error #5 Reply with quote

Hi,

i've installed a new Win2008 R2 SP1 Server and use domain-administrator rights to access to this system. i've already disabled the firewall but it's not possible to run a check-service test. it's not possible to receive the service-list for this Host in HM. what's going wrong?


I've updatet to HM 9.56 and already check wmi connections remotely with wbemtest and some other check tools and thats all works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Error #5 means "access is denied".

>i've installed a new Win2008 R2 SP1 Server and use domain-administrator rights to access to this system

Do you mean you used Connection Manager to specify domain-administrator account for the host?
Or you are using "Connect as" test property?
HostMonitor started on Windows 2008 R2 as well? Some other system?
HostMonitor started as service?
Under built-in admin account?
UAC disabled? enabled?

Quote:
I've updatet to HM 9.56 and already check wmi connections remotely with wbemtest and some other check tools and thats all works fine.

Service test does not use WMI

Regards
Alex


Last edited by KS-Soft on Thu Jun 27, 2013 8:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MirkoW



Joined: 01 Jul 2008
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

yes i use the Connection Manager with a domain-admin account for this host and i have already tested it with "connect as " property but this do not work too.

Hostmonitor is running on Win2008R2 too but have a other patch-level as the monitored host. Hostmonitor is running as a normal application under a domain-admin user.

UAC is disabled on monitored host.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you checked security Event Log on target system?

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MirkoW



Joined: 01 Jul 2008
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've checked it and i detect that HM use the user, where it run itself and does not use the admin-account that listed in Connection-Manager and ignored the "connect-as" property too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MirkoW



Joined: 01 Jul 2008
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

now i have add the user where HM is running under to local administrators group on the target host. Now it works..

I think HM does not support cross-forest communications between 2 domains that have a full-trust. i already used a rma-agent for this thats installed on an other host in the same domain where the target host is running. HM Server itself runs on an other domain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
i've checked it and i detect that HM use the user, where it run itself and does not use the admin-account that listed in Connection-Manager and ignored the "connect-as" property too.

"Connect as" does not work, current user account is used for connection?
This is known bugs but its not HostMonitor bug so we cannot fix it

We heard about such problems and spent a lof of time for investigation. HostMonitor calls Windows API with correct account information, but Windows sometimes ignores these parameters and uses current user account.
Workaraund: create account with the same name/password (the same account you are using to start HostMonitor) on target system.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
KS-Soft



Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 11782
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I think HM does not support cross-forest communications between 2 domains that have a full-trust.

Its not exactly HostMonitor's job. This should be managed by Windows.

Regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KS-Soft Forum Index -> Bug reports All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

KS-Soft Forum Index